We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

After a day in DC we arrived late the desk clerk was very understanding and gave us a better rate and late check out . It was to relax on the beach even at midnight .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    888
    560
    225
    110
See reviews for
996
914
83
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was fine except not much of a man's bathroom at the meeting room.
Also my charger was lost when I changed rooms they did not give it to me.
So I have to buy a new one. The pool closes early and the treadmill closes
earlier. You can get a better discount on things yourself.

rr

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks very much for staying with us, and we will be sure to keep an eye out for your charger and contact you if we locate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We checked in early to get the top floor with a king size bed overlooking the ocean. Well worth it! The view was fabulous. The room was pretty clean. The bed was comfortable. I'd bring my own pillows next time though as the hotel pillows were too small and fluffy for my taste. I would skip the restaurant altogether! We walked in to a horrid smell--the carpet is old and the place smelled dirty. So we asked if we could sit outside. The outdoor seating was nice with a great ocean view. Unfortunately the bartender was setting up the bar and pushed his cart back and forth, hauled and poured his ice--he made a lot of noise. I realize he has a schedule, but he was inconsiderate of the guests eating. The waittress got our orders wrong, took forever with our coffee and water, and made a mistake on the bill, but the food was okay. I would stay at this hotel again, but I wouldn't eat there again.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor away from the elevators, facing the ocean. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, NY
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My Mom and I spent a week here in May 2012 and we loved this hotel. We've been coming to OBX for 5 years and by far this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. View of the ocean on 5th floor was very nice. Room is not a suite, but comfortable. The convenience of a refrig and microwave helped a great deal. Nice table to sit at and a oversize chair to relax in. One very big plus is the in-room safe. These seem to be had to find at the OBX.
The food and service in the restaurant were excellent---wish I had known sooner Mom and I would have had another dinner there at the hotel.
The decking to the beach is another plus with foot washes and showers. Chairs are available on the beach for a small cost...keeps people in order.
The view of the dophins was great and we enjoyed walking up and down the beaches.
For those of you who collect "squished pennies" Jennette's Pier and Kitty Hawk Kites have Penny machines---both great places to visit.
We ate a Bare Foot Bernies again...great food. Try Seaside Gourmet to Go for some goodies to bring back to the room! Yummy!!!
Sabrina is a hoot love her antics.
Front desk was very helpful and pleasant...they have the patience of a Saint...working with the public can be very trying at times.
Looking for an adventure drive over to Alligator River Refuge drive very slowly on the trail road and you may see a bear. Just don't get out of your car or feed them. Great to watch and the refuge has events too, so you'll want to check those out.
One place I'd not go back to is Sugar Creek restaurant, maybe it was an off day but the food wasn't very good. The soup came out cold and the grilled tuna wasn't anything to write home about.
If you go enjoy the OBX and all it has to offer.
Thanks to the staff at Ramada you made and mother and daugther trip a beautiful memory!

Room Tip: 5th Floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARiley1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are not looking for a lavish hotel, this place is great. Breakfasts are simple, well priced, what you'd want in a menu and nicely cooked (something I don't take for granted.) Rooms are simple but clean. I would pay the bit extra for the ocean view. You can stay in your room/balcony and still get the ocean experience. The other side would be far less enjoyable. It overlooks unattractive surrounds.

They have a few nice amenities including vending on each hall, an outdoor bar, indoor pool etc. It's a Ramada, so don't expect the Hilton, but it's good if you are most interested in the beach and a comfortable and clean bed and breakfast. Good for families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thanks for the feedback from your recent stay with us. OBX overall has a relaxed, laid back, stress free type of atmosphere. Our hotel mirrors that attitude in hopes of providing relaxation for all that visit with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our great ocean views, restaurant quality and cleanliness of guest rooms- we’ll be sure to share this with our team here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I came in on June 1st and was scheduled for departure on June 3rd. I had this stay reserved since Feb. I called a few weeks ago to double check on this room and was checking on another for some friends at that time the girl said they were putting me on the 5th floor. When I check in I found out I was on the 3rd floor, when I asked about what the girl said, she tells me there were no rooms available, but I could check on Saturday and move. I got to my room which was the last room down the hall. Go inside and it was horrible. The bed was as hard as a rock, the bathroom was very small and very hot. You could barely look out the window at the ocean, due to it being dirty. I am very dissatisfied with my stay, I checked out on Saturday and went to Comfort Inn and got a awesome view of the ocean. I will never stay at Ramada again nor will I ever recommend anyone to stay with Ramada again. I also noticed the room we got that was Oceanfront in the Ramada did not look anything like the pictures online. Also I noticed our room was smaller then others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bocophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Our hotel has various room types and views and as you can imagine many of our guests have preferences as to where they would like stay. We do try our best to accommodate everyone’s wishes and manage according to arrival times and availability of rooms. We would like to discuss this with you again personally as we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night this past week. We found the room ok. It was big enough, and had a balcony (that overlooked the parking lot) and while it seemed clean enough, there was a bit of a smell. I'm not sure if that's the hotel itself or if its because its in a hot humid area.
We liked their outdoor space. There were nice seating areas, and we liked that it was right on the beach. We did use their indoor pool, which was basic but mostly clean. (room for inprovement - as there was some food on the table areas that had been left by previous guests).
We really liked how central this location was because there was so much to see and do near by. That's why we chose it in the first place.

No breakfast included. Also, we discovered on the reciept slipped under our door that they overcharged us on the room cost, so i had to go to the front desk and get that changed. No biggie, but i didn't like that the paper work wasn't processed properly in the first place.

I'm not sure if I would go back or not. I think we'd probably want to try other options first. But for a first time visit it was ok.

Room Tip: if you don't mind a view of the parking lot you can save extra on a room. Also, read your receip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_F_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks for leaving comments about your recent stay with us. The indoor pool and expansive outdoor deck areas sure are a big hit with our guests and we’re glad that you enjoyed yourself. Although breakfast isn’t always included within every room rate, we do offer fabulous packages (some with breakfast) so be sure to check them out next time. We’d love for you to return again when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing