We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
$129
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$107
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress House Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,702)
Filter reviews
2,702 results
Traveler rating
767
956
603
245
131
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
956
603
245
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnags headthe outer bankshotel restaurantocean viewindoor poolhot tubhousekeeping staffoff seasonnorth carolinabeds were comfortablebeach accessbeach frontsabrinapeppercornbirdparrotspet
Filter
Updating list...
2,534 - 2,539 of 2,702 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were greeted promptly and professionaly by a young man who was multi-tasking 4 phone calls, while checking-in 3 couples, all in under 5 minutes. He was impressive in handling the situation and had us all checked-in quickly. The bird, Sabrina, entertained us while waiting, so it was a good first impression for our visit. We booked a 4th flr oceanfront room, and the view from the balcony was excellent. The room was small, but had all amenities we needed. The bed was very comfortable. The only negative was the room could use some soundproofing. But other than the occasional loud neighbor, it was peaceful and relatively quiet. One thing I was most pleased with, the room and the hotel, were exceptionally clean. And, for an older beach hotel that gets alot of wear, it's very well maintained. It has kind of an 80's feel to the overall decor, but appears they're getting ready to do some remodeling in the lobby which should help. The hotel has a nice heated indoor pool and whirlpool area, with an extensive deck over the dune area leading down to the beach. Many chairs and chair swings on the deck to lounge and relax in. There's a playground with bike rack off to one side of the deck, and along the back of the hotel is a long separate boardwalk at the ground level for walking pets. Overall, above average for Ramada, and a nice beach hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Hello Kentucky friends! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience our relaxing pool and deck areas with the awesome ocean views. We’re sure you found it relaxing and hope you were able to see the dolphins swimming by. We do try to have fun things for everyone at our hotel in order to cater to all guest needs- families, couples, groups etc. Your observations are correct, and we are planning on some renovations in the near future which will continue to improve upon our guests experience with us. We hope to see you back again, and please keep in touch via Facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Ramada Plaza during our first visit to the Outer Banks. It's a great location for day trips to the north and to the south. It took about an hour and a half to get down to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by. One thing that was a bit strange was that our room was not cleaned during our 2 night stay. Of course we were going to reuse our towels and didn't need the bedding changed, but mopping and vacuuming up the sand would've been nice. Great deck and boardwalk area right to the beach. Pool is INDOOR and there are lots of chairs and umbrellas you can drag down to the beach. EVERY staff member we passed greeted us with a friendly greeting (not a mandatory "hello").

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootsieTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thanks for reviewing your stay at our hotel recently. We see that you travel often and appreciate the nice comments both about our hotel and the OBX area. Our staff tries hard to ensure your time with us is as comfortable as possible by having various amenities available for you (i.e.: chairs, umbrellas, free guest laundry, etc.) We do hope that you will return and visit us again soon, so keep in touch via Facebook until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Ramada Plaza has a great location - right on Nag's Head Beach. Most rooms on the oceanside have balconies with great views. But guestrooms, corridors and the lobby all need to be freshened and upgraded. The place just seems a bit worn around the edges and has an 80s feel.

The bed was very comfortable. Six pillows and extra towels were provided. We liked that! The room was very clean and featured a small refrigerator and microwave. A safe for valuables was present but did not work. However, our room had no flat-screen tv (just an old crt set) and the least reliable wifi I have ever encountered in a name-brand hotel. Most furnishing were worn, some drawers would not stay closed, and the corridors all had a very strong smell of cleaning agents. The walls seem to be made of paper. We could hear quite a bit of low-level noise from the rooms above and beside ours.

One thing that seemed somewhat odd to us is that the boardwalk to the beach could only be entered through the pool area or the restaurant. The pool door allowed no re-entry, so (unless someone left it ajar) the only way back was through the restaurant. Pretty poor design I think.

This could be a fine beach hotel. It just needs to be upgraded, freshened and improved.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanside room or you will have a balcony overlooking the parking lot.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ComQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thanks for you candid response and for staying with us recently. We truly value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We do have very comfortable beds, an awesome location, and various amenities to enjoy as you stated. We agree that its time for a hotel ‘refresh’ after hosting so many happy customers and we do have plans on beginning hotel renovations soon. We do hope that you’ll return back again and let us know how you like our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Recently visted this hotel, booked for 2 nights. After the 2nd night, nobody wanted to leave, so we booked for a 3rd! Every employee we came across, with the exception of one, was pleasant and helpful. And the one (grumpy) male that wasn't, was promptly corrected and the female at the front desk took over and helped me out.

Hotel was clean, location is ideal. Granddaughter enjoyed the pool, though the hot tub appeared in need of cleaning. Possibly from lotions worn by occupants?? The restaurant was good, especially breakfast! Again- more pleasant staff. Their Malibu Bay Breezes were the BEST I ever had. Umbrellas and chairs on the beach were a great perk. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are ocean view, first floor rooms are given to those with pets.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monapoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

WOW, now that’s a true compliment! Staying an extra night is what we love to hear. We do offer multiple night discounts (along with packages) so be sure to consider that next time! The beach being right outside is great, but having the beach chairs, umbrellas and indoor pool make it that much better and we are so glad you got to experience it all. Come back soon and ‘like’ us on Facebook and share some great photo memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Dated property, the room we had was small (clean), but the property is ocean front, pet friendly! The on site resturant had good food. Found the HVAC a bit noisy, could not run the fan continously, the unit cut on and off. The bed was good, basic amenities in the bathroom. Found a common bond between several guest that had pets.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paintman0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we’ll be sure to look into the HVAC noise you mention. We are one of the few hotels that offer ‘pet friendly’ accommodations because we feel the family shouldn’t be apart while all the great memories are being made. Please visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews