We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

My wife and I and our 2 Dalmatians went down there for the first time in late September when we heard our babies could experience the beach more freely and also enjoy the sites. Our room was on the third floor, ocean view and everything was exactly as we'd asked for. Motel and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and and our 2 Dals loved all the room they had as did their parents. Water pressure in shower was excellent , couple tiles at the bottom of room near the door could be replaced but overall great. Very, very pet friendly as they had a big bird in the lobby and there were many pets there during our stay with no problems. Didn't use the inside pool or spa or the resturaunt during our stay but heard other guests complimenting them. Maid service was great and she replinshed coffee packs, etc each day.Always had plenty of ice in machine on same floor as we were so that was very nice and convenient. Elevator was welcomed as we had alot of stuff to carry from our vehicle and thank the lord they had a big rollaway cart to accomodate all of itand plenty of room in the elevator for all of this. Not sure if elevator was air conditioned, if not it needs to be, Price was very affordable and not overcharged as some motels do for pet rooms. Refrigerator and microwave were very nice to have also as we certainly used them. Motel was right on the ocean which was great and our Dals loved the private balcony (probably wished they could stay there forever) and short walk to the beach area and visiting with other pets and pet parents. Overall excellent stay for our first trip down there and will most likely use their services in the future. Thanks to all there.!!!!!!!!!!!!! Need to add very centrally located to alot of the other townships and other amenities the outer banks has to offer Very pleased with our first visit. A very memorable time.!!!!!!!!.

  • Liked — Very clean, friendly staff, very pet friendly, great views, oceanside. convenient and centrally located to alot of the areas tourists attractions and shopping
  • Disliked — Not really anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalParentsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    791
    500
    196
    100
See reviews for
888
797
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

My wife and I found several blood stains on our bed sheets the morning we checked out, and noticed several small brown bugs smooshed on the covers. Gross!!! Later, both of us broke out in hives -- not exactly the best memory we had from our romantic autumn weekend at the beach. Avoid this hotel at any cost.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the bed bugs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BizTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Northern, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

To start with, AAA gave a better discount than the Military or Govt rates. That in it self should send a clear message to our service members especially. I would not rate this hotel OK, I would rate it as bad in some areas with more than a few problems, but the category isn't there. My room was dirty to begin with, dirty carpet, broken refrigerator, (looked like it had been kicked in during a fight. Holes in the wall, the textured ceiling had been scraped off in places and the ceiling repaired, peeling wall paper in spots, the balcony was filthy. It had cigarette butts, match sticks, food chunks and unknown liquid stains on the furniture and floor so bad I couldn't even go out there. There was so much damage to the room I complained to the front desk to get it cleaned up and make sure that I wasn't going to get charged for all the damage and the lady behind the counter just smiled and said we are under construction.
My first Impression was the worst!, other than the room that I obtained in the Bates Motel. The name of the hotel was not a very good representation of the accomadations. The nice pictures on their web site did not show the true experience!

And Oh my god, and don't get injured there like I did and talk about a no care attitude, from front desk employees! Don't even get me started. The only good experience was the Bar and the resturant, excellant service there. I will not be returning for any reason. I would rather go to another establishment and stay.

  • Liked — The Bar and resturant and staff
  • Disliked — The filth and the condition of almost everything on the property
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler7NORVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Wanted an inexpensive 4 day beach vacation on Outer Banks with friends in late sept. The hotel has a great central location on the beach and be sure to get the beach-side rooms with balconies. Overall was clean but did show signs of wear and tear. The rooms were good with air conditioners and dehumidifiers and had extra pillows and blankets. Bathrooms showed some mold in tiles and some broken tiles but overall staff kept clean and well supplied. Lobby, pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Has large multilayered deck with chairs and lounges but nothing for the sand. Good location for a quick vacation. Competitive price for this level brand in this area.

  • Liked — Location right on beach
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weatherwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

First off, there are not many decent Outer Banks hotels to begin with. My husband's family had a beach house there for years and recently sold it so we had to get a hotel for the long weekend. For all the hotels in the area there was only 3 we'd consider: Ramada, Hilton Garden Inn (too far north) and Clarion (next to the Ramada). All 3 are on the beach.

I'm not fond of most beach hotels because they can be dirty, really outdated, and just loud. The Ramada was outdated some, but it was a really clean room and quiet. We were on the 5th floor right next to the Ramada sign. Everyone was very nice and efficient. There's direct beach access and an indoor pool and hot tub. We didn't use room service or go to the restaurant because we went to our favorite places...Owens Restaurant and Awful Arthurs. We tried Dirty Dick's Restauarant as well which was really good and a greta place to go if you want crab legs and shrimp!

Anyway, we are used to staying in Disney's Deluxe Resorts every year so that's our normal taste, but Ramada was a decent and clean place to stay and we'd stay there again unless we rent a house. I forgot to mention that it is also a Pet Friendly hotel w/ a fee. While we left our two shih tzus at home, others did bring their pets. We didn't hear any barking or any other noises. Maybe next time we'll bring our pets.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — Outdated Decor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dznyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottsville, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Needed a mini vacation with the spouse, that allowed pets. The room was average, the service was average. Everything was average.

  • Liked — On the beach
  • Disliked — Cock roaches and ants
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We were down to the wire of getting a hotel room for one night on the weekend in this area so we felt somewhat fortunate that the Ramada had one room left. It was pretty clean although the carpet felt dirty when walking across it. The bottom line with a lot of beach hotels is you are paying for the location not the room and this hotel falls into this category. There is no way I'd pay this much money for this room in any other location. The room above ours must have had a toilet leak because the ceiling tiles were soaking wet above our toilet. The gentleman at the front desk was not the friendliest but since the entire area was booked I guess he didn't have to be. The restaurant did have a very nice breakfast bar available and the the waitresses were very nice. The beach was just a short boardwalk from our room and just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gltravelerIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing