We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to visit”

Wright Brothers National Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.91*
and up
Beach Cruiser Rental on the Outer Banks
More Info
$50.73*
and up
Beach Cruiser Weekly Bike Rental on the Outer Banks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park where visitors can see a replica of the Wright Brothers' plane and receive an entertaining history of flight.
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed seeing the story of the development of the airplane and the first flight. Photos, displays, etc. make the learning experience a pleasure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,148
    871
    186
    27
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I visited this national memorial in September. Quite frankly, I was a bit ambivalent about visiting but my husband insisted. I'm so glad he did! The park ranger did an excellent job on the presentation. (It's a must see.) The overall experience was historical yet relate-able because we were told the human story (not just dates, etc.). The grounds are lovely to walk - just wear comfy shoes - markers, monument, sculpture, pavilion, and all. The views at the top are beautiful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenHuggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A history lesson in aviation”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited the Wright Brothers National Memorial during our winter vacation (Christmas week) at Kill Devil Hills. This is where Wilbur and Orville Wright conducted the world’s first heavier than air, powered controlled flight on December 17, 1903. In the auditorium we attended a Ranger programme and heard some interesting stories of their endeavours. In addition to models of their planes, the shed where they camped, and the hanger where they kept their planes, you can see markers showing the starting point and the landing points of their first four flights. If you hike up to the monument, you will get a panoramic view of the surrounding areas. Admission is $4 per adult.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“You can feel the history.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Walking around you can just imagine what the Wright brothers were doing over 100 years ago. Amazing place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this memorial”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you are the least bit interested in the Wright brothers and their contributions to manned flight you should stop here. They have a great museum, a model of their first plane and a markings showing the length of each of their first flights. We also enjoyed a wonderful, enthusiastic presentation by a ranger describing the work of the Wright Brothers and how they built their first plane.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jones8928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wright Brothers National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Wright Brothers National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing