We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I love the outer banks and one of the reasons I love the outer banks is the fact that it is a very pet friendly place. This was our first experience staying in a pet friendly hotel and it was bad. This room was so nasty, I had to go to the drugstore and get allergy medicine. The room looked like it had not been dusted all winter. I believe they had some old rooms that had never been renovated and those are the ones they made "pet rooms". I left comments at the front desk but never heard a word. The sheet would not stay on the beds and that scared me because the mattress did not look clean. I would never stay here again.
Greenville, NC

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PirateFan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2006

Room was small. Very close to the beach. Staff was not very knowledgable. They say that each room has wireless internet...NOT TRUE! You must go to the office to get the signal. Manager did give us a small credit but it was, "too little, too late" Find a different place.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couponchix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mechanicsville, VA
11
Reviewed June 27, 2006

A friend and I spent the weekend at this hotel in late March 2006. The rates were WONDERFUL, by that, I mean they were very cheap for college students. Because the rates were so low, our expectations of the hotel were also low. We were somewhat pleased with the whole package for the most part. We did Lysol the bathroom and brought flip flops to wear in the shower. There was also a very odd stain my comforter. I can't say much for the sheets because I never dared to look. I brought my own blanket and made a cacoon for myself to sleep in. Our balcony door was also a bit finicky as well, it didn't like to open and close when we wanted it opened or closed. The few members of the staff that I met were very nice and helpful. I didn't ask much of them and they didn't ask much of me. It worked.

Overall, I'd go again as just a cheap weekend trip with my friends. For the money, its worth it. Of course, I will be bringing the Lysol and my own blanket again, but hopefully I'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chesterfield, Virginia
12
Reviewed June 18, 2006

It was a good hotel. When my husband and I arrived, we were suppose to stay at the John Yancey Quality Inn, but we had to switch our rooms because they put us on the second floor and my husband could not climb the steps and they had no elevator. So they switched us to the Four Seasons hotel and it was really nice. The only problem is if you come out of the hotel about 4:00am in the morning, you will be attacked by lots of black cats. They were surrounding the cars, like they were waiting for us to feed them. They really need to take care of that problem.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chesepeke, VA
12
Reviewed June 10, 2006

stayed in there in june 06, i paid over a hundred dollars for a room....that was dirty n filled with sand....staff wasnt helpful at all......not the nicest people.....a very poor exscuse for a hotel.....

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Poquoson, Virginia
14
Reviewed May 24, 2006

We stayed at the John Yancy over the Easter weekend. The room was clean and adequate. The microwave and refrigerator in the room were a plus. The parking lot was packed but when we sat out on the balcony it was very quiet and seemed like we were the only people there.

The pool was very nice and clean and we enjoyed meeting people from other parts of the country.

I have stayed in four and five diamond hotels and this hotel is a AAA 2 diamond rated hotel and doesn't pretend to be anything else so don't expect more - but if you want a hotel room at a reasonable price by the ocean and in a great location this is a nice place to stay.

I left my wallet behind and the staff found it and kept it for me - very nice, friendly, honest people.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ohio
13
Reviewed May 21, 2006

great time here at this property. Staff very helpful room clean and well kept. My wife and I really enjoyed the quick ocean access and the staff is very knowlegable about surrounding area. Rate was great too compared to what other properties were charging. WE WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, Mp 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $55 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing