We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any Closer to the Ocean & You'd Be Swimming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Any Closer to the Ocean & You'd Be Swimming”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in Room 504. This is an old motel showing it's age. The room was damp and smelled like a wet dog, but that's what you get with 100% humidity of a beachfront hotel without elevation or impediment to the ocean that is also pet friendly. The furnishing seemed new, the room was clean and the air conditioner worked well. There is breakfast, we missed it both days opting to sleep in or swim early. You are paying for direct access & view to the beach. I literally stepped off the deck of our oceanfront room and walked across the sand into the ocean. I've read other reviews listing damp rooms, rust or mildew. We didn't experience rust or mildew, but an old locally owned hotel directly on the beach is going to be ravaged by the elements.

This ain't the Ritz, but the view is worth a million bucks.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms in the Sea Building will have the best view but be more humid than the Four Season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbnjgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    87
    49
    89
See reviews for
149
155
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms deteriorating and filthy. Had two rooms and both were disgusting. Rugs stained, blood stains on quilt, dust everywhere, bathrooms grubby and vomit or some other food stuck on doors in bathroom. Never had a more disgusting experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Alexander, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've come back for anniversaries since we first discovered John Yancey five years ago. Direct access to beach without going over dunes is wonderful! We plan on returning regularly. Location is great for accessing the OBX sites.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's not fancy, but very clean and hospitable. We stayed in an oceanfront kingsize room with our pet. The view was fantastic and we were just feet from the ocean! Great morning breakfast, and lots of hot water for the shower. The Kill Devil Grill is just across the street and has very good food. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of June and have already made reservations for a long weekend at the end of July. Air conditining worked great, the refrigerator kept our food and drink cold, and the microwave worked just fine. The best part is we can bring our dog. There are very few places on the Outerbanks that will welcome your pet and the one we stayed at before reeked of animal odor, this facility does not. Our room was very clean and scent free, just like at home. We look forward to more visits.
Enjoy!
David, Terrie & Arie (our pet)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tikigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the main building. The rooms were clean & very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The employees were very friendly & nice as well. The outside of the main building could use some repair & updating. Overall we had a very nice stay. The next time I stay there I would rather have a room where I have my own private balcony

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlvrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback. We continue to look for ways to improve the guest experience at the John Yancey. Our two oceanfront buildings have undergone extensive renovations over the last 2 years. Most of those rooms feature private balconies or terraces. We have more planned for the upcoming fall/winter for the Main Building. Please do come back and see us again!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah Ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We read a lot of bad reviews about this hotel........ We decided to give it a go after we read about the renovations of the Four Seasons building which we stayed at. There were some good features to the hotel but overall the experience was not that great due to the cleanliness of the facility.

The bad:

Double beds in the renovated room. I knew what we were getting when we reserved the room, I just didn't understand why they didn't put queen beds in.....

The carpet is horrible! We understood the first floor hallway not being in great shape given the fact that it is by the ocean, that being said there were two areas of our carpet (on the fourth floor that was "renovated") that looked like two dead bodies laid on. We would not walk on the carpet bare footed. Socks or shoes only. People will always remember a dirty floor.

They really need to ditch the carpet in the main halls and go with tile due to the ocean. They should also tile the main entrance of the doorway in each room when you first walk in. There was also green carpet that looks like it belongs on a pontoon boat on the balconies that is no longer secured to the balcony.

The area under the fridge needed cleaned and the head boards were dusty.The shower handles had a lot of zinc build up. There was a toy gun left by the previous guest. (Remember they pride themselves on the cleanliness of the facility but missed a toy water gun)

The facility needed maintenance. The air conditioning was broken on the first floor near the elevator. Our rail on the balcony was loose. The door leading out to the balcony took a body builder to get it closed and the door leading to our room wouldn't shut properly without force.

The AC was weak in our room. It is an older facility that does not have central air. That could be a personal preference though.

I didn't see any in the hotel, but on the 4th floor there were 2 smokey brown cock roaches on our balcony. From what I read due to the mild winter here, they are very common.

The Good:

Great price! We couldn't find a better one.

Staff was friendly to us.

One of the best locations around and easy to find!

Beach is clean and the waves and wind were non stop. Had a great time at high tide with my family.

Crabs would come up on the beach at night and made for a fun time spotting them. (THEY RUN VERY FAST ON LAND!)

Adequate amenities. I wouldn't change anything they offered. It was basic, but good!

Internet was sufficient for browsing and video. (you could tell when everyone in the hotel was settling down, but it wasn't horrible)

Pet friendly.

All in all if they fixed the floor problem I would have no problem staying back in the facility. .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are continually looking for ways to improve the guest experience for customers of the John Yancey. We are sorry you did not have a better vacation, and hope you will give us another opportunity to show why we are and have been a favorite Outer Banks hotel for generations.

We in fact did replace carpets in all Four Seasons and Sea Building (oceanfront) over the last 2 seasons. We pride ourselves on cleanliness of the property, and in addition to a carpet replacement program, we steam clean carpets on a regular basis.

We have completed a number of capital improvement this offseason (cable upgrade, WIFI upgrade, room renovations, additional flatscreen TVs, etc. We have more planned for 2014/2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The only "pro" this hotel has is the fact that it is in a good location. However, upon checking into the room and walking barefoot on the carpet we noticed that it felt and look wet at the ends of and between the beds. After getting back from Jockey's Ridge a couple hours later, I decided to notify the front desk and see if maybe they had an explanation for the dampness of the carpet in that area. The front desk sent someone (seemed to be a service man who spoke broken English) who told us that the carpet was not wet and that it might look wet from the AC unit and that it was fine. There is no excuse for saying the carpet was actually not wet despite what we could feel, and the AC causing the carpet to look wet from the condensation on the unit IS A PROBLEM. Laying in bed that night, we noticed that every time the AC unit turned on the room was filled with a musty mildew smell, which is more than just an nuisance it's a HEALTH HAZARD as well.
I almost said that being "pet-friendly" was a pro as well, but at $20 extra a night this makes it a con. I received a voicemail at dinner saying the front desk had received complaints about our dog barking. The amount of noise coming from the other guests makes it a wonder anyone could hear or complain about our dog, who was probably only barking at the noise coming from other people.
Thankfully when I made the reservation John Yancey only had availability for one night that complemented the availability of Sea Foam motel for the other night we were staying at the OBX. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY AT SEA FOAM INSTEAD!!! They only charge $10 extra on your total stay for having a dog and have a cheaper base price as well, much cleaner and fresher smelling rooms, and seem to have a better family-centered clientele.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank AmyJean1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Property: John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing