We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Yancey Inn Outer Banks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“John Yancey Inn Outer Banks”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stay at the John Yancey over Memorial Day , 23rd to 27th.

I booked by priceline, and after reading some of the negative reviews I was ready to call priceline and raise the roof.

I even bought bug spray , fearful of the looming disaster.

However, nothing could be further from the truth. The room was quite adequate, more than I expected, and the carpets were clean and appropriate. Did it smell like saltwater, yep, but I suspect this was because the Atlantic ocean was landing on the beach a couple of hundred feet away, not anything to do with the hotel. Hotel location could not be better, they would have to put it on a pier to get any closer to the water.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel is the place to stay with pets. Quite pet friendly, even furnishing some dry and canned dog food in the room I stayed in.

In the 140 to 160 dollar range on a Holiday weekend I doubt you will find a better value.

I did not use the pool but it appeared clean and a lot of folks were using it.

Check in and out was painless.

For the Outer Banks, good value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    107
    87
    54
    90
See reviews for
159
158
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Yancey was ideal for my man and I over Memorial Day. Just the two of us this year for three nights so went with a hotel option (it's actually a motel). Certainly not the fanciest place we've ever stayed, but it's right on the beach. An overall good value. Our ocean front room let the morning sun in first thing and after breakfast (they have what looked to be a good one included with the room, but we went out both days) it was literally a 20ft. walk out of our door to the beach. Beach was great -- not crowded, lots of families. The room, towels, halls were clean. Staff friendly, parking abundant and the microwave and college fridge helped us with snacks and beverages. Just an overall good value -- convenient location and RIGHT on the beach. Paul and I will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarratt, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were here for three nights in May. The room looked freshly painted. Everything was very clean and in good working order. Nice water pressure in the shower. There was a microwave and small refrigerator in our room. That was a nice addition. Nice white cover on the beds that looked freshly laundered. No signs of smoking or pets in our room. That was very nice. Only complaint was the continental breakfast. They were very stingy with the bread. They were also out of orange juice very early in the morning. The food that they did have was good. The young lady that worked the breakfast was very polite and did the best that she could to be helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and had a perfect ocean view over the dunes. Might not be able to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstkidofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

John Yancey is a small mom and pop type place right on the beach. The rooms are nice and they should market the fact that they are way larger than an average cheap room in an old hotel. They have little kitchens in them with a sink, fridge, cabinets, etc. This was very NICE being at the beach and having drinks, leftovers, yada yada. We also had a little table area and two decent size beds with space to walk around in the room. The bathroom is small. The price is cheap and you can get rooms that are right on the sand. The location is great for the Outer Banks, lots of stuff close by and they are pet friendly. The office staff was super nice and let us check in early because the rooms were ready. They also didn't charge us when we locked ourselves out and they had to give us a new key. Don't expect the Regent Beverly Wilshire - but expect value for what you will pay to stay here. You can't beat being right on the beach and also close to restaurants and shops for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This place has the perfect location! Behind it is the beach, in front of it is the #1 spot to eat, in town. We chose this place because they are pet friendly and our dog needed a vacation as much as we did. When we first arrived we had to exchange rooms because our door key wouldn't work, then our tv was stuck on mute; however, they promptly fixed that. 2 minor issues that were adequately handled to our satisfaction. The rooms are a tad dated, yet clean... for the most part - we were woken up at 7am due to a ringing phone :/ Finally found a cell phone (not belonging to us) on the floor, under the table. Either way, who needs modern appliances in the room when at the Outer Banks? We are here for all the fun outdoors, and an early wake up just allows more time for the beach... John Yancey provides a nice area to rest our heads, dog included.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GRuggiero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let me start with the good. There's lots of good about this hotel. Good #1 Location= perfect! Right on the oceanfront, located in a pretty central spot for the OBX, easy to get to any of the things you might want to see. Loved being able to walk over the dune and be right on the beach! Good #2- pet friendly! Good #3 Staff is friendly and in a very genuine way. Good #4 Right across the street is my new favorite restaurant in OBX- the Kill Devil Grill. Good #5 Continental breakfast serves the purpose, and coffee available all day in the lobby. Good #6 Room was basic but bathroom was clean and sheets appeared clean. Good #7, for a motel, it had the amenities I expected like an ice machine and decent parking.
Next, the Bad and the Ugly: The Carpet, good lord the carpet! It was bad and ugly. It was filthy. I am no germophone but I seriously did not want to touch it with my bare feet. There was a large wad of black gum stuck to the carpet right in the center of the room. It made what was otherwise a clean and fresh room dingy and musty. I mean seriously - it makes a terrible first impression. You could tell from looking underneath the table the carpet was supposed to be tan with a pattern but in the heavy traffic areas it was so dirty it became essentially one color: dirt. Now I completely understand if they are in the process of renovation and new carpet is being phased into other rooms first for budgetary reasons. I get that. What I do not get is why, while the other rooms await renovation, no one thought to rent a carpet steamer to at least try to clean the heavy traffic areas just a little? I really think that effort alone would not cost very much, would not take too much time, and would make a huge difference to the overall feel of the room.
That being said, even though the carpet was really horrendous, we liked the hotel and would come back (after they assure us the carpet has been steamed!)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toonces76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are continuing to renovate select rooms each year, which includes carpet replacement, interior work, painting, new drapes, etc. As a beach property, we do seasonally steam clean all carpets, typically in the spring. We pride ourselves on clean, affordable oceanfront rooms for our guests, and personalized guest attention. We strive to resolve any guest issues as they arise.

We do hope you can give us another opportunity to show you why the John Yancey Inn is a favorite Outer Banks beach motel, and has been for years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was a long way for us to get there, but we was compltly satisfied about hotel. We had a sunny weekend on the beach full of relaxing atmosphere - thanx to hotel and stuff.
Breakfast was litlle to simple, but anyway it was not a reason for disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Property: John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing