We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my kind of place”

Captain Tom's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 111 Restaurants in Kernersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not my kind of place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Inexpensive decent food with good service but too big and too many people for a relaxing meal.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank kvmeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    49
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Red Lobster is Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Went here based on hotel employee's recommendation for restaurant that was not fast food.
Grilled shrimp was hot but not much flavor even with lemon butter and bland cocktail sauce. Simple salad and plain ole baked potato. Grandson had popcorn shrimp and fries from kids menu and too much food dor a kid. He loved the hush puppies but I didn't realize that was what they were!! I did not care for them. He would not eat the Cole slaw that came with his meal so I did andbit was the best part of the meal. The place was very busy for a Tuesday evening so I assume most people do like it even though it was not for me.

Helpful?
Thank carocross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Seafood Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped here to eat heading home from a trip. We had a taste for seafood. I only eat fried shrimp, but my husband loves all types of seafood. I had fried shrimp and my husband a platter with a variety of seafoods---shrimp, oyster, scallops, ect. The food hot and fresh. Very enjoyable meal. Price was comparable-not over priced. Conveniently located near interstate.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lexington_NCAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Tom's is the place to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love going to Captain Tom's. Even thou they have great seafood. I LOVE there chicken tender.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Best for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Excellent food and senior plate more than enough. Very clean and excellent service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tom's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Kernersville, NC
Kernersville, NC
 

Been to Captain Tom's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing