We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prissy's 10x better than Carter brother's!”

Prissy Polly's Pig Pickin' BBQ
Ranked #2 of 111 Restaurants in Kernersville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prissy's 10x better than Carter brother's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Prissy Polly's is SO much better than Carter Brother's! And cheaper! Carter brother's has really raised their prices lately.. it's like paying steakhouse prices!

I love the Lexington style BBQ (sweet and tomato based.) I like that they have two different sauces to choose from, not just Eastern like CB. Very good slaw and "BBQ" taters-they are boiled potatoes w/ a great seasoning on them. When I get a craving for some good BBQ - I always come here, it's the best and close by! Pretty affordable too - get a big BBQ sandwich, side, slaw, & a drink for $6.50. They also have different choices if you're not looking for Q - chicken, shrimp, fish, meatloaf, ribs...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBgal_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    65
    36
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skimpy Meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not a fan of ordering at a counter. The food is passable but not exceptional. The night I was there there was a family with unruly screaming kids behind me. Guess that's what you get when you are only one step above Burger King!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Many people have recommended this place to us, but we were not that impressed. Looks cute, but bar-b-que not that exciting. The place was clean, but we like our "que" with a bit of a zing to it. If I were you, I'd give it a try if I was hungry, but it is not the best we have ever eaten.

Helpful?
Thank NewSrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot to stop on I-40 between Greensboro and Winston.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stopped at Prissy Polly's BBQ several times when traveling through North Carolina. Other reviews are correct- their hushpuppies are really good! You get a choice of Eastern style (vinegar based) or Lexington style (sweeter tomato based) bbq. Sweet slaw is very good as is the fried okra. Lots of other choices like fried chicken and good sides but we always get the BBQ. Very comfy, fast, but not "fast food" and a great place to stretch and have some southern sweet tea. Kids plates too....you will see plenty of locals so you know It's good!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4kytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This restaurant offers two kinds of North Carolina BBQ, eastern style and Lexington style. We chose the Lexington style on our visit, and were not disappointed. The BBQ was very meaty. Nothing but meat, and nothing else chopped up with the BBQ. Absolutely outstanding. There are a variety of offerings to choose from in the way of plates, sandwiches, and sides. This is one of the best BBQ places I have visited over the years. Definitely worth trying. You won't be disappointed. The facility is also roomy, and nicely decorated with old-time memorabilia. The staff members were also helpful and friendly. Overall, a great BBQ joint!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prissy Polly's Pig Pickin' BBQ also viewed

Kernersville, NC
 

Been to Prissy Polly's Pig Pickin' BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing