We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, nice rooms, great price”
Review of Red Roof Inn Kenly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kenly
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Waterford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome staff, nice rooms, great price”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were extremely pleased with the excellent service we received at this Days Inn. We were on a 9-day trip with our two children and stayed at different hotels each night. This Days Inn was definitely the highlight of our Days Inn experiences. The rooms are typical - if you are staying here you are probably on a budget as we are - and there was nothing to complain about. We felt the hotel lobby, grounds, rooms, pool, etc. were clean and safe. The best thing about our visit here was the wonderful service we received. During breakfast in the hotel lobby we were discussing our plans to drive to Washington DC for the day but how we were worried about the excessive heat warning for the area and that we may need to change our plans. The desk clerk must have overheard our conversation because he and the hotel manager approached my husband a few minutes later and offered to let us stay later than check-out time at no extra charge and offered to open the pool immediately so that our kids could swim and cool off (normally the pool opened a couple hours later). We were so surprised by this kind, thoughtful and generous offer, especially after some less-than-kind service we received at another hotel. We did take them up on their offer and I ended up getting two loads of laundry done in their laundry room while the kids swam. If you are on a budget like our family and looking for a hotel in this area, we would definitely recommend the Days Inn Kenly. Of course it's not the fanciest of hotels, but it's a great hotel for the price, and the AWESOME professional and truly hospitable service makes it a 4-star hotel in our book!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    24
    26
    24
See reviews for
37
23
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We travel with a cooler of food, so we like having a fridge to put stuff in every night. So when we took a meandering trip from Missouri to the NC coast & back again, we spent 13 nights in Days Inns. We travel with a cooler of food, so we like having a fridge. Days Inn quality was variable, but Kenly, NC, was 1 of 2 we'd definitely not repeat.

We were elated to find a laundry room with working appliances--unlike most of the Day Inns. It wasn't particularly clean, and its bathroom was gross.

All the vending machines were empty. Fortunately there was a fast-food place next door. We brought our food back to a table by the pool around dusk.

The room was...DIRTY...GRIMY. Maybe never been swept.

I think "breakfast" was packets of instant oatmeal.

No bedbugs.

Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenly hotels

Wimauma, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Tired but adequate. It was a one night stay on a return trip from further south. It was a "free" night from redeeming Wyndham Rewards. Overall the property is past due for some major freshening. That said the shower height, pressure and temperature were fine but the bathroom itself was tiny. The bed was moderately comfortable, the room had two chairs but no suitcase stand nor any available flat surface but the desk and the floor (the fridge and the TV were using the top of the other piece of furniture}. The complimentary breakfast was OK but selection was limited. There was neither a major complaint nor any positive "WOW" factor. I'll close where I began -- Tired but adequate.

Room Tip: Other nearby Interstate exits offer more updated properties and a better choice of restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My family was traveling from Orlando, FL to NJ. We stopped to sleep overnight. We were not in the room for more than 30 minutes when we found several bed bugs in both beds!! I thought bed bugs were microscopic; not these bed bugs!!! They were BIG! They were crawling all over the white sheets and pillows. It was disgusting!!! The manager quickly refunded my money. But I'm sure the room will be rented out again without bring cleaned and fumigated! DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina121298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Close to the highway and gas,restaurant etc. The furnishings are outdated but the hotel is generally clean. Desk help very nice. OK for a "passing thru" stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The right place for $50/night. Clean, neat and just enough for a flyby!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pannipannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Traveling from the Outerbanks on the way to Charleston we stopped at the Days Inn off the interstate in Kenly NC on June 30 2011. The hotel is easy to find, but it is next to a truck stop. Our room could have been cleaner and they didn’t have any queen bed, only 2 doubles. They blamed the lack of queen beds on our booking through Expedia. Also, when I asked for a receipt, again they “couldn’t” give me one since I had booked on Expedia. What? You can’t give me a receipt or anything?
The lobby was very worn and dirty and the “breakfast” was toast and your choice of two cereals. If you just need a place to sleep and shower, it’s good enough for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenly
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Kenly
Motel 6 Kenly
#1 of 3 in Kenly
40 reviews
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Wilson
194 reviews
14.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
#8 of 17 in Wilson
155 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
158 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kenly

Property: Red Roof Inn Kenly
Address: 1139 Johnston Pkwy, Kenly, NC 27542-7544
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kenly
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kenly 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Kenly is conveniently located off of I-95, 2 miles from downtown Kenly. This hotel is a short drive from many local attractions such as the Kenly Parks & Recreation Center- the perfect place to enjoy a game of soccer, tennis, batting cages, or a stroll on the walking trail. How about a trip for the whole family? Close by are scenic areas where you can enjoy an outdoor picnic, camping, fishing, boating/kayaking, and more at Hatcher's Bridge Tree Farm, or Buckhorn Lake! You can also enjoy other attractions such as the Tobacco Farm Life Museum, Southern National Motorsports Park, Cardinal Country Club, Tri-County Kartway, or the Ava Gardner Museum! When you're ready to grab a delicious meal, head on over to one of the many local restaurants including Iron Skillet, Waffle House, Denny's, Nik's Pizza & Restaurant, Stormin' Norman's Barbeque, Golden China, HWY 55 Burgers, Shakes, & Fries, or Seafood Station! With rooms that offer free WiFi and flat screen TV's with extended cable (including HBO), we invite you to come stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Kenly! The Red Roof Inn Kenly offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a fitness facility, free breakfast from 6:00 am - 9:00 am, seasonal outdoor pool (open from Memorial Day through Labor Day), connecting rooms, dry cleaning, coin laundry, free on-site parking, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, extended cable including HBO channels, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, work desk, and in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kenly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kenly
Kenly Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing