We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but Adequate Property Soldiers On”
Review of Red Roof Inn Kenly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kenly
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Wimauma, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired but Adequate Property Soldiers On”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Tired but adequate. It was a one night stay on a return trip from further south. It was a "free" night from redeeming Wyndham Rewards. Overall the property is past due for some major freshening. That said the shower height, pressure and temperature were fine but the bathroom itself was tiny. The bed was moderately comfortable, the room had two chairs but no suitcase stand nor any available flat surface but the desk and the floor (the fridge and the TV were using the top of the other piece of furniture}. The complimentary breakfast was OK but selection was limited. There was neither a major complaint nor any positive "WOW" factor. I'll close where I began -- Tired but adequate.

Room Tip: Other nearby Interstate exits offer more updated properties and a better choice of restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    24
    26
    24
See reviews for
37
23
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My family was traveling from Orlando, FL to NJ. We stopped to sleep overnight. We were not in the room for more than 30 minutes when we found several bed bugs in both beds!! I thought bed bugs were microscopic; not these bed bugs!!! They were BIG! They were crawling all over the white sheets and pillows. It was disgusting!!! The manager quickly refunded my money. But I'm sure the room will be rented out again without bring cleaned and fumigated! DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina121298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenly hotels

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Close to the highway and gas,restaurant etc. The furnishings are outdated but the hotel is generally clean. Desk help very nice. OK for a "passing thru" stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The right place for $50/night. Clean, neat and just enough for a flyby!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pannipannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Traveling from the Outerbanks on the way to Charleston we stopped at the Days Inn off the interstate in Kenly NC on June 30 2011. The hotel is easy to find, but it is next to a truck stop. Our room could have been cleaner and they didn’t have any queen bed, only 2 doubles. They blamed the lack of queen beds on our booking through Expedia. Also, when I asked for a receipt, again they “couldn’t” give me one since I had booked on Expedia. What? You can’t give me a receipt or anything?
The lobby was very worn and dirty and the “breakfast” was toast and your choice of two cereals. If you just need a place to sleep and shower, it’s good enough for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn in Kenly for a night on our way to Florida and because we were traveling with extended family we rented 3 rooms. All of the rooms are very dated and the comforters are as old as I am (and I'm no spring chicken). One of the rooms had dead bugs on and around the sink basin. We spoke to management about it. They were more than gracious and offered to move us to another room. They explained that they have pest control in every 21 days and that the motel had just been sprayed 2 days prior to our arrival. We declined the change in rooms....after all the bugs were dead.
The air condidtioners could use replacing along with just about everything else in the motel but for what we paid, it's no wonder they don't fix anything up.
The motel is very close to the highway and that coupled with dirt cheap price was our reason for choosing this motel. Our rooms were located upstairs poolside so the noise from the highway was not an issue.
The mattresses were hard as a rock, so if you like a good firm mattress, you're in luck.
The pool was clean and we could smell chlorine so that too was a plus.
The breakfast consisted of muffins, frozen waffles, toast and cereal.
We had some good conversation with some of the truckers who frequent this motel and they were very nice.
The staff is also extremely nice.
Rooms were as clean as anyone could expect considering the dated furnishings, thin towels and stained carpets.
I would not suggest this motel for an extended stay, but if you are not picky and only plan to stay for an overnight it's ok for a one nighter.
Cheap, cheap, cheap and that was what we were looking for.
Also - there was a car on blocks in the parking lot when we stayed and we noticed that same car still in the parking lot a week and a half later when we drove past on our way home.

Room Tip: Always double check your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCleaningLady1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I traveled from CA to NC for our daughters graduation in this small town, stayed 3 nights and selected Days Inn as our hotel as we had had good experience with this hotel chain in CA. The rate for the room was very cheap but we found out that you get what you pay for! As we drove up we noticed right away that the exterior was very run down and hoped that the interior would be better, WRONG! The rooms are very dated and had this odd smell to it. As you walk around the grounds don't be surprised to see roaches! Luckily we saw none in the rooms. The one plus about this place is the friendly service we received at the front desk and housekeeping. It was nice to get free Wi-fi and continental breakfast but BE AWARE, the breakfast is a first come first serve so once it's gone it's gone! We didn't get to have breakfast once while there. There are not many hotels to choose from in this town but we will definitely be trying a different hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celiayrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenly
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Kenly
Motel 6 Kenly
#1 of 3 in Kenly
40 reviews
14.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Wilson
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
158 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
#8 of 17 in Wilson
156 reviews
14.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kenly

Property: Red Roof Inn Kenly
Address: 1139 Johnston Pkwy, Kenly, NC 27542-7544
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kenly
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kenly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kenly 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Kenly is conveniently located off of I-95, 2 miles from downtown Kenly. This hotel is a short drive from many local attractions such as the Kenly Parks & Recreation Center- the perfect place to enjoy a game of soccer, tennis, batting cages, or a stroll on the walking trail. How about a trip for the whole family? Close by are scenic areas where you can enjoy an outdoor picnic, camping, fishing, boating/kayaking, and more at Hatcher's Bridge Tree Farm, or Buckhorn Lake! You can also enjoy other attractions such as the Tobacco Farm Life Museum, Southern National Motorsports Park, Cardinal Country Club, Tri-County Kartway, or the Ava Gardner Museum! When you're ready to grab a delicious meal, head on over to one of the many local restaurants including Iron Skillet, Waffle House, Denny's, Nik's Pizza & Restaurant, Stormin' Norman's Barbeque, Golden China, HWY 55 Burgers, Shakes, & Fries, or Seafood Station! With rooms that offer free WiFi and flat screen TV's with extended cable (including HBO), we invite you to come stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Kenly! The Red Roof Inn Kenly offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a fitness facility, free breakfast from 6:00 am - 9:00 am, seasonal outdoor pool (open from Memorial Day through Labor Day), connecting rooms, dry cleaning, coin laundry, free on-site parking, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, extended cable including HBO channels, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, work desk, and in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kenly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kenly
Kenly Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing