We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To (does not deserve) The BW Name/Standards”
Review of Days Inn Jefferson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Jefferson
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Up To (does not deserve) The BW Name/Standards”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Website photos are outdated and DO NOT reflect the current status of this hotel. There was no lighting in the dark hallway leading to the sauna. The exercise equipment was not clean and some stations were just outright nasty. The exterior door to our room (126) did not even have a threshold! That left a large 3/4-inch gap below the door; allowing all sorts of crawling beetle bugs to come waltzing on into our room at any time. We had to use bath towels to plug up the gap. Breakfast staff was AWOL most of the morning. The no-frills, bare bone "breakfast" needs an upgrade and better variety of items.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank D49QYdianas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
I'm sorry that you had such a poor experience. We have made upgrades to breakfast since your stay and we have sought to address several of your other concerns. We do hope that you'll give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    58
    48
    28
    17
See reviews for
69
75
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Locust, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Would like to stay here again but will bring own pillows, advertisement for hotel on line stated full breakfast which was not given. Second room we reserved did not have fridge, finally got one but it didn't work properly. After three nights there, no one had come to repair fridge yet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
I'm sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you had hoped. I too find it unacceptable that you'd have to wait three days to have a problem fixed, at the very least the staff should have moved you to another room. Since your stay we have replaced the manager and we do hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our stay was marked by great customer service and very adequate accommodations for our four day stay in May, 2014 for a family wedding. Receptionists and other staff on all shifts were friendly, responsive and attentive to our every need. Accommodations themselves were not luxury, but were certainly clean, quiet, secure and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, but not exceptional. A few more amenities would enhance this service. Overall, we would highly recommend this motel as a great place for a quiet weekend, close to everything we needed, secure, and with very friendly and attentive staff. Nearby W. Jefferson has great downtown shops and restaurants, and very friendly people everywhere. Four stars. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. We are thankful that you found our staff helpful, friendly and professional. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Unbelievable mountain views. Older fashioned hotel that is well maintained. Friendly people and hotel is very clean. Great location and close to West Jefferson which has an old downtown area with plenty of good places to eat. Must try Boondocks-Brewing Restaurant. Want a great get away experience, this is it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Luther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We appreciate your business. I'm delighted that you found things not only to meet but exceed your expectations, that's what I like to hear about my staff. We do hope to see you again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is a very good value and we often stay here when in the area. The breakfast is a little below average but the accommodations are very nice. Overall the hotel is very nice for the price range and always comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BillyBarrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad that you find us accommodating on your visits and we appreciate your business. We look forward to serving you again in the future. We have changed restaurants since your stay and hope that will address the breakfast issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I found it unbelievable that I had to change rooms 3 times to fine a clean 1. The 1st room the beds were unmade and the room had a very heavy clorox ordor as if to cover up something, the 2nd room had the same order, but the beds were made. But once I started to unpack and get into the bed I found the sheets had all kinds of stains on them, so once again I had to contact the front desk and manager to move; I asked if there were anymore hotels in the area and was told "they were the only hotel in the area" so I had in choice but to stay and finally I got a clean room with no dirty sheets and no heavy clorox order. Oh and I forgot my door lock didn't work corrctly and anyone could just walk in off the street until the manager showed me his trick to secure my room door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Leroy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
I'm sorry to hear of your experience. I thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We have since replaced the manager and hope that should you stay with us in the future that everything will be in proper order as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jefferson hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Effectively this is a motel in all but name.
Unfortunately our room smelled of stale tobacco. The room was fairly small by U.S. standards and the décor was faded and dated.
Facilities were limited, as were eating places in the immediate vicinity.
Breakfast was complimentary, but available at a diner on the adjoining site. However there were only 3 options, none of which were particularly great.
At £63, this was the lowest price we paid of the 7 places we stayed on our 2 week trip so I suppose some of the above could be expected, however I'm glad it was one night only!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Days Inn Jefferson, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and your concerns. Since your stay we've found a new restaurant to occupy the motel itself so we once again have facilities on site which currently serves breakfast and lunch. I regret that you were put into a smoking room if I'd been made aware of the situation we would have moved you to a better room. We do hope you'll give us a second chance on any future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
3.4 mi away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
85 reviews
19.3 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
23.5 mi away
Days Inn Wilkesboro
Days Inn Wilkesboro
#3 of 6 in Wilkesboro
62 reviews
19.0 mi away
Greene's Motel
Greene's Motel
#15 of 18 in Boone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Jefferson

Property: Days Inn Jefferson
Address: 829 E Main St, US Highway 221 & NC 88, Jefferson, NC 28640-9743 (Formerly Eldreth Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jefferson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Jefferson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eldreth Inn features a daily hot breakfast for its guests as well as free WiFi. Guests will be located 15 minutes' drive from Mt. Jefferson State Natural Area. A flat-screen cable TV is provided in each room of this Jefferson motel. Guests can also make free local calls, and all rooms provide ironing facilities. A fitness centre is located on site at the Eldreth Inn as well as a 24-hour reception. Guests can also enjoy free parking on site during their stays. This motel is 5 minutes' drive from West Jefferson city centre. Tweetsie Railroad is located 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Jefferson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jefferson
Jefferson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing