We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarvisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jarvisburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

After checking out the reviews here, I went ahead and booked one night as a stop on my way to OBX. The price was very low and I appreciated that, but I couldn't wait to get out of there. Thank goodness I arrived late and left early. The ceiling in the room looked like it was going to fall down; the carpet was stained (BIG stains), the frig was rusted all along the outside (didn't dare open it); and everything was extremely outdated. The worst part was the smell. The smell of the room was bad enough, but the smell of the office/reception area was downright nauseating.

I wish I had paid more attention to the reviews and noticed that one person wrote all the positive reviews.

Room Tip: ask for a room that perhaps has been "updated"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We've stayed here the past three years now as part of our trip to the Outer Banks and will stay again next year. They have updated/replaced the flooring and some other things in the rooms. Very comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. Definitely has become part of our tradition of going to OBX.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfamily0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband, children, sister and I stayed again this past August 2010. Our "usual" room had new carpet and flooring in the kitchen. It looked much better, but we enjoy staying here anyway. The only issue that might have been was that they apparently double booked our room. We called on the way to confirm, and when we were getting close received a call asking if we were still on our way as another family had also showed up. It worked out for us as we had called earlier in the day to reconfirm our reservations. However, we felt bad for the people who arrived 10 minutes prior to us and had also booked the same room. They had to go elsewhere as the motel was completely booked and it was very late. All in all though, we love staying here. The price is great and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachfamily0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Although this motel is not the Ritz, it was pretty decent for the price. We were aware of this motel as my husband and his friends often hunt during the off season in NC and this is where they have stayed. My husband and our son along w/ my brother stayed when we arrived in the Outerbanks on a Friday evening (we couldn't check into our beach house until Saturday). The hotel was fairly clean and our room had a small kitchen with a refridgerator which was convenient. We could park our vehichle right outside our door which was also nice. It was nice to stay right near the Outerbanks so that the next morning we didn't have a far drive at all and could spend the day of our check in shopping and hanging out on the beach. It was also very convenient to restaurants and eating. If you're looking for luxury, this is not your place and yes it could use some updates...however, if you aren't picky and are looking for something comfortable and affordable, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachfamily0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

The motel is advertised as clean and reasonable. The "standard" room was mostly clean although there were two hairs in the bathtub. However, the structures were in a state of marked disrepair. Whatever monies the hotel owners have earned, little or none have gone back into to the motel. For example, the blind on the front window was broken off to where one could see the outside (and be seen by them). The blinds didn't sit in the window properly so that there was a big gap on the side. Anyone walking by could view the bed. Much of the trim was stained, chipped or broken. The paneling on the walls was bowed with the inner wall visable at a corner joint where the seams were coming apart. The carpet was stained and full of cigarette burns. (We found out that all rooms were smoking -- a real problem to someone with allergies. The air in the room had a stale old cigarette musty odor.) The ceiling of the bathroom had been repaired, but not very well. And part of the bathtub was rusted through.
My husband and I were on a budget and made reservations sight unseen. The price was just under $60 with taxes, way too high a price for this motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Outdrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jarvisburg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarvisburg
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
11.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
22.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
16.1 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Property: Sea Oats Motel
Address: 112 N River Dr, Jarvisburg, NC 27947-9500
Location: United States > North Carolina > Jarvisburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jarvisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & comfortable accommodations for the budget minded person. We have single, double & efficiency style rooms and are located only minutes from the NC Outer Banks beaches! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing