We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below-par HIX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night and were disappointed that this location wasn't up to HIX standards. Very run-down and "felt" dirty, even if it was clean. A little overpriced as well. Bizarrely, there is a prime parking spot for Employee of the Month– I know they want to encourage their employees, but when you run a business where your customers carry luggage, every spot is valuable.

If you can afford it, the Home2 Suites nearby is a much better choice.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank matthewsmith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

After frantically trying to find a hotel in wilmington for three hours we finally found a place to stay. The holiday was everything we needed and more. The rooms were clean, the staff so friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable. I will definitely keep this in mind for next year. The next morning we went to topsail beach which is only 30 minutes away. Will a bit of a trek it is more than worth it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzicgurl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Location - On Hwy 17/Marine. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance.
Bathroom - The ceiling is very low in the shower and the door opens in, which makes the bathroom even smaller than it is already. The water pressure and temp were great. The tub was pretty scratched up and the toilet ran. I left a note to repair and called, but it was never fixed. A makeup mirror and better hair dryer are needed.
Bedroom - Neither the bed nor the pillows )crushed foam) were comfortable and the sheets were worn thin. It had a flat screen TV. A small microwave sat on top of a small refrigerator - no cabinet or shelf. An upholstered chair and small side table were provided. The A/C was quiet, but didn't cool well. A full length mirror and open closet are provided - only a couple of hangers though.
Business - the WiFi connection issues were ok and there were plenty of outlets in convenient locations. A work desk is available. One public computer is available in the lobby. Newspaper are in the lobby, not delivered to door.
Housekeeping - OK, Left 2 regular and no decaf coffee paks. Laundry machines are located in the back foyer by the vending machines and door to pool. (I don't know that I'd leave my clothes unattended.)
Breakfast - standard continental included in rate - starts at 6AM.
Fitness - No fitness center; however, you are given access to a club 2 miles away or the neighboring Candlewood Suites' fitness center, which has 1 treadmil, 1 elipticle, 1 bike and a weight machine.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 10's and 20's are near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After staying at Beufort S.C. Holiday Inn Express,This one is no match!
Pros: Clean Rooms
Cons: Ice makers Dirty, Broke on second floor
Room window moldy
Called front desk for a light bulb for desk lamp....never did get!
since my son was leaving Camp Lejeune for japan...he stayed with us...I ordered a portable bed and did not get till midnight
Very Small Rooms!
I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyBoy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear BillyBoy1962,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. I'm pleased you appreciated our clean rooms. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November of 2011 for a return of a Marine unit. The staff was great, there was always a hello or a smile from the front desk to any of the housekeeping staff. Our room was clean and the halls were quiet. The breakfast was very good and always busy! I was very glad we chose this Holiday Inn Express and it would be the first place I would attempt to book upon a return. I was also super impressed that staff throughout the hotel so many times said if we needed anything... just ask!

Room Tip: I normally ask for a higher floor room and a room away from the elevator :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayW467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel is located beside the Walmart shopping center and there are several very nice restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. You can literally walk to the restaurants if you like. The hotel is very nice and modern. It is a non-smoking hotel so be prepared to step outside if you smoke. The staff is very friendly and professional in checking you into the hotel. I use Corporate Lodging and the rate is good. The breakfast is always excellent and the attendant always keeps everything stocked for the morning rush for breakfast. The King Rooms are much nicer than the Double Rooms. The bed is a little firm but comfortable. The only disappointment in the hotel is that the bathrooms are a little cramped in size, but other than that, the room is very nice.

Room Tip: On Wednesday nights, the hotel offers a manager's reception. This week the hotel had food from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard49135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses, so I have to give this one an average. They have a lot of Marines stay there regularly so there tends to be more noise sometimes than other hotels I have stayed at. If you are staying in Jacksonville NC though, this is going to be a problem for EVERY hotel! You have to book a hotel here at least a week or two in advance or good luck finding a room ANYWHERE! I have had this issue several times as I fly into the area for work. As a Platinum Priority Club Member, my understanding is that if I call within 72 hours, I am guaranteed a room. This HIE does not honor that. I have called a week ahead and been told they dont have any rooms for me. Their policy is that you have to stay 99 consecutive days for them to guarantee a room 3 days ahead. The decor is just average, could use some updating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robdawg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Robdawg30,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We appreciate your business very much and thank you for your loyalty as our priority club Platinum member! We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. Sorry to hear you received service which was less-than-satisfactory. In order to invoke your Platinum 72 hour guarantee you must contact the Priority Club service center directly, the number is on the back of your card.

Again we thank you for your review as we believe that we can only improve and enhance our services through our guests' feedback.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#16 of 30 in Jacksonville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
#20 of 30 in Jacksonville
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in Jacksonville
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville

Address: 2115 Hwy 17 North, Jacksonville, NC 28546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $65 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and smoke-free! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Jacksonville, N.C., the area's friendliest hotel. Whether you are coming to visit one of our many military bases, traveling for business or just on your way through, we are the right hotel for you. Our location is in the heart of Jacksonville. Camp Lejeune, Camp Geiger, Camp Johnson and the New River Air Station are all just minutes from our front door. At Camp Johnson you can visit the Beirut Memorial. The Jacksonville Mall is only five minutes away, and plenty of other shopping areas as well. Other available activities in the area include golf, saltwater fishing, scuba diving, kayaking, camping all within twenty minutes of the hotel. After a busy day, you want a comfortable, friendly place to stay. All of our rooms feature wireless Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker with coffee, microwave and refrigerator. Several restaurants are walking distance. You can stay in shape while you're on the road in our refreshing outdoor pool (closed summer 2009 for remodeling) or if a more vigorous workout is what you had in mind, stop by our desk for a complimentary pass to Court's Plus Fitness Center or Golds Gym. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area. If you have any special requests feel free to contact our hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate you. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing