We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not thrilled”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #19 of 249 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not thrilled”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I remembered this place much differently then the way I experienced it when I visited in Jacksonville. Sadly I think you'd be better at Mickey Ds.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaWS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, but food not so great”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stopped at Golden Corral for lunch today and even though the service was fine, the food didn't measure up. I had pork BBQ, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, Bourbon Street chicken and Salisbury Steak. All was decent except the Salisbury Steak. It in no way resembled meat in any way excpet visually. It did not taste like meat, but like some sort of filler. It crumbled when cut and had a strange texture, totally unlike beef. Will stay away from this from now on if I go back. The Bourbon Street chicken had somewhat of a chemical taste. GC food seems to have gone down in quality over the last couple of years. Sad, as it used to be first rate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dodgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once a year regret”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I always joke around about this place. We say we our due for our annual visit to Golden Corral. Whenever we go, we always come out feeling this place is not even worthy coming to dine not even once a year. Unfortunately we live in a town with almost no good restaurants. Food here is always the same and never worth paying buffet price because we only eat one plate.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CoachHaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We travel to Jacksonville at least once a year to visit relatives. With all the young families in Jacksonville there is always a crowd at Golden Corral on Sat. and Sunday mornings. Never had a problem being seated though and never had them give out of food. The place has some age on it but is kept clean even with all the kids it' s endured over the years. They actually have a larger selection of items than they do at the one we have at home which is only a few years old.the taste of the food doesn't vary too much from one GC to another and this is no exception. Some of the dishes are great and others just good, but worth the price.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chas-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Township, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge selection”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Eat here every trip to Jacksonville. A huge assortment

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing