We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had this restaurant chain back home”

Cook-Out Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 248 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Luling, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish we had this restaurant chain back home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Decided to give Cook-Out a try after reading several good reviews and glad we did. Some of the larger chains should take notice a burger two sides and a drink for under $5 wow, and the home cooked flavor is there. If I see one of these restaurants in the future on my travels through the Carolina's I will definitely stop again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luling_Buzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best dessert ever at fast food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopped just for dessert. They have over 40 different flavors of blizzard like desserts. I would have to say these were the best mixtures of desserts in a cup that any of my family has ever had. There were 12 of us, and we all had a different flavor. We tried each others and everyone was delicious! My sister lives near by and says that the dinners and lunch is also great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganHappyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastermar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value for large families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Love the combos, you can choose from many sides with your main food choice. For example, I want a cheeseburger, and for my 2 sides, a corn dog and a quesadilla! So I can give my 2 yr old my corn dog. Cajun fries are great too. And over 40 flavors of shakes, along with seasonal flavors. Clean and fresh food. We love it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BBQ sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Their BBQ sandwich is on point and the shakes are delish. If you're in the mood for fast food go here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not fancy, just plain good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've eaten here several times and enjoyed it becauase it's one of the places where the locals go. It's extremely clean and for the very inexpensive prices, the food really exceeds your expectations. They have an interesting assortment of side dishes- where else can you get a corn dog as a side? The hush puppies are my favorite. There are many flavors of milk shakes, traditional and unusual. I got the manager's special of pulled pork last time, and was surprised by how much food I got; a very generous helping of pork, wonderfully flavorful and tender, plus coleslaw, hush puppies and fries. I think the manager's special is probably the best deal of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook-Out Restaurant also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cook-Out Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing