We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Carolina Ale House

Carolina Ale House
Ranked #5 of 252 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fun place to hang with your friends and drink a few beers. The food is a good value over all. Lots of TV's. Very loud when a game is on.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank milady_bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    97
    38
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
camp lejeune
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I went on a Friday afternoon for lunch. A good portion of the restaurant has tables that are pub style height with no backs and since my husband has a bad back we asked for a table or booth with regular chairs and they were happy to accomodate us but I am sure if they are slammed you won't be allowed to be so picky. The menu is varied with choices that are offered at other nearby restaurants, however the food is much better than your average chain. The french fries were wonderful as was the prime rib sandwich I had and the buffalo chicken sandwich he had. The dressings and dipping sauces are made in house as is the buffalo sauce that our waitress was nice enough to go ask the kitchen when she was questioned. The service was quick and very attentive, cannot say that for many other nearby restaurants. Overall I hope that this place continues to outshine the nearby competition, this restaurant is a great addition to Jacksonville.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disneylover98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a relatively new eatery on Western Blvd. It is a Sports Bar concept. The food was good as was the service. They have many TV screens. Our visit was on a Saturday about midday during college football season. The TV screens were not of much use as they have no volume nor CC. So you do not know what is being said on the TV's. Instead they have music playing. Will likely go back again for lunch...but not to watch a sports event.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT food! FANTASTIC service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hands down my favorite place to eat in Jacksonville. We have been here at least three times now and the food is great. For a restaurant that is usually slammed packed, the service is wonderful. Even the prices are reasonable.

Regarding people's complaints about noisy.... Can it be noisy?.... absolutely!, but you are talking about a restaurant that is full of people. If you're concerned about this, go during an off hour. When the parking lot is full, and people are even parking on the side street.... yes .... it's going to be noisy. Surprise!.... all those cars brought people to this place! AND for a good reason!... this place is just that great!

Don't let noise discourage you!... THIS PLACE IS FANTASTIC!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e.m.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“family spot”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice sports bar great place to bring kids until the young drinkers get rowdy. Love all the tvs food is average bar food. Service was good dont like seats with no backs cant stay that long, will have to leave that to the young marines and college kids. Saw one fight while i was leaving they need to beef up security. Manager said they are having four or five fights a week watch you back after dark in this environment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Ale House also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing