We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Stay!!”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had to take a quick trip to Jacksonville for a job and was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. The price was right, the staff was friendly, my room smelled great and was clean, my bed was comfortable, and the location was centrally located to everything I needed. If I ever have to make another last minute trip, I will undoubtedly book my stay @ Sunset Inn again!! VERY HAPPY!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had called ahead to ask if we would be able to park our big truck in the parking lot. I was told Yes. I then read some of the reviews and decided to see for myself. We.. {ME and my Husband}..arrived a little early ,as he had to make a delivery. They had a room ready. I asked to see it first. And the nice young lady took me to a room. It was a nice clean room..my issue with it was it was on the backside of the motel. So I asked to see another room. Closer to the front .I was shown this room and I felt real comfortable in it .It had a recliner chair, a nice king size bed and a wonderful makeup/sink area. The bathroom was nice and clean. They even had black out curtains so we could sleep better It had some spots. But to be able to sleep on a comfortable bed offset those. When we woke ..we went for the breakfast. Nothing special..,waffles,oatmeal,ceral,muffins,milk,juice,and coffee. It was filling and a good start to another working day. The staff was nothing but friendly and even when we checked out ..they asked if everything was o.k. And we will be back this way in a month and yes we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladychantrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

nice motel for the price. the rooms were very clean. the front desk was very helpful in directions to the military base. there are several restraunts you can walk too. housekeeping did a excellent job bringing us fresh towels and supplies. i will stay here again my next visit to jacksonville nc. the price was very good compare to all them expensive hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently took a last minute trip to visit friends on the coast and ended up at Sunset Inn. I was very happy with the establishment. It was clean and a good price for its location. Happy I didn't have to waste gas driving all over town for food since it is located in the heart of Jacksonville. I was able to walk to the different restaurants. The staff was very pleasant to deal with also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I came to visit my son who is stationed at Camp Lejeune Marine Corps Base and I stayed at the Sunset Inn. I had a great experience. You can tell the rooms have recently been renovated and you can't beat the location, very close to everything! My son had to work a few of the days I was in town and I didn't know much about the area. The hotel staff was very helpful all week. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I'll be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Everyone at the Sunset Inn were courteous and willing to help us with all our needs. They accomodated us very well, i couldnt have asked for more. Nice room at a good rate i wouldnt stay anywhere else in Jacksonville.

Room Tip: King rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

With all the good reviews, I decided to book him at this hotel. Boy,was I wrong! All the reviews here must be getting paid for the good reviews. There are cracks in the walls and ceiling, 2/3 of the popcorn on ceiling was gone. Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Loud. Had to wait at least 5 minutes while lady at front desk was talking to her boss on the phone. Breakfast was awful!

Suggest you pay an extra $10 - $15 and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#17 of 30 in Jacksonville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Jacksonville
Motel 6 Jacksonville
#27 of 30 in Jacksonville
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
#20 of 30 in Jacksonville
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 30 in Jacksonville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 497 Western Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28546-6815
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing