We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to book” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place to book”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Everyone at the Sunset Inn were courteous and willing to help us with all our needs. They accomodated us very well, i couldnt have asked for more. Nice room at a good rate i wouldnt stay anywhere else in Jacksonville.

Room Tip: King rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
24
9
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, NC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

With all the good reviews, I decided to book him at this hotel. Boy,was I wrong! All the reviews here must be getting paid for the good reviews. There are cracks in the walls and ceiling, 2/3 of the popcorn on ceiling was gone. Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Loud. Had to wait at least 5 minutes while lady at front desk was talking to her boss on the phone. Breakfast was awful!

Suggest you pay an extra $10 - $15 and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything from the cleanliness to noise to customer service at this establishment was beyond sub par and no one seemed to care. Booked the Comfort Suites not far down the road for my remaining several nights for $2 more a night and was MUCH more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights with sunset inn. We had to make an unexpected trip to NC to say goodbye to our son who was leaving for Afghanistan and always pay out of our budget and not on credit so money was tight. Sunset Inn is an older motel that has been updated and is clean. The hotel staff each morning at breakfast had to double for breakfast staff and hotel desk staff but were still cheerful with guests. We paid for 4 nights what we would normally pay for 2 somewhere else. The hotel was clean and quiet but booked solid. The cost savings allowed us to enjoy doing more things with our son. Breakfast was minimal but appropriate considering the cost savings. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms around back are quieter. Disregard fitness center rating as there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMCMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The entire facility was wonderful! The room was remodeled and everything was new including the marble counter top and bathroom. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and I was able to get a good nights sleep. The staff was very courtous and seemed happy to help me. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a clean, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very pleased with the courteous staff, service and cleanliness of our room! We've stayed here once before and will again for our next family visit. The location is right in the middle of town. Close to shops and many restaurants. Definitely will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very pleasant. The rooms must have just been remodeled they look beautiful. Texas roadhouse was walking distance and walmart. Housekeeping did excellent job bringing me fresh towels and supplies every day. This hotel needs to be part of chain.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Affordable Suites of America Jacksonville, NC Hotel
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites/Camp Lejeune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 30 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#17 of 30 in Jacksonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 497 Western Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28546-6815
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing