We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable affordable in Jacksonville”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed March 16, 2012

After reading motel reviews before my trip to Jacksonville, NC, I was worried about where to stay. Jordan at the front desk was very polite and accomodating, letting me review the room and check for cleanliness. She put us in Room 121 in the back. It was quiet, parking outside the door for easy unloading of the car. The room had Wi Fi which pleased my adult son, and a great refrigerator and microwave that pleased me. The beds were comfortable, had matress covers that made me feel safe from the bedbug scare you hear nowdays. The bathroom had a clean tub and the vent fan was on a seperate switch from the light switch which is very nice (less noise). The free breakfast was good with milk, oj, coffee, muffins and donuts, fruit and more. I would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Back side was very quiet, no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussytraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for about four days when we were in the area for a funeral. The staff was fantastic and they were extremely friendly. The rooms and the breakfast weren't bad for the price. We were there from a Friday to a Tuesday morning and it was pretty quiet over the weekend but for some reason, Monday night it got pretty loud. Overall if you want a cheap, decent place to stay, this is the place. (Btw, they had us in what I was told was the "family building" because it was quieter.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famlygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Enjoyed my stay and my room was comfortable, could not beat the price of the room. Extremely affordable and cozy. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. Front desk lady was very friendly and made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The day shift lady at the front desk very sweet and friendly. Everyone was very helpful.The rooms are remodeled, very nice! Comfy beds, room sizes were large, everything was very clean. Came with a refrigerator, nice tv, and a microwave. Best hotel I have stayed at so far in Jacksonville and there has been more then a few.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

the night person, sleeping phong keep on ringing no answered. will never stay there anymore. some day shift rude. front desk need more english speaking.

Room Tip: no way to tell. this estblishment is just pested with raoches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel has a great staff, friendly, efficient, and open to comments. I think they have worked hard to upgrade the Sunset Inn and will continue to do so, so I am ranking it above average. The room was good size, clean, with a work table (yes, they know that the arm chairs don't fit under it), nice refrigerator, microwave, cable tv, and free internet. Bathroom was clean and well lit.

I think if we all keep asking for changes, motels/hotels will respond. The Sunset Inn needs to improve their breakfast bar. Nothing healthy, frosted flakes and sugared cheerios, danish, sugared orange drink... lets promote non-sugared cereal, fresh fruit, non-fat milk.

p.s. watch your fingers when you use the handrails...

Room Tip: rooms in the back, overlooking Home Depot are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to all! Xtremely large, clean rooms... new furniture, they even have the mattresses sanitized. Housekeeping and front desk very friendly. Overall great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Jacksonville
Motel 6 Jacksonville
#27 of 30 in Jacksonville
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites/Camp Lejeune
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 30 in Jacksonville
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
#15 of 30 in Jacksonville
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Affordable Suites Jacksonville NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 497 Western Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28546-6815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $45 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing