We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, slept good and had a yummy continental breakfast”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My Motel Inn and Suites
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Augus
1 review
“Friendly Staff, slept good and had a yummy continental breakfast”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on my previous travels (10+ times) when I stop in through Jacksonville. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and willing to help as best as they can. Hairdryers/ironboards/irons are available upon request. Apparently the tv remote was missing from the room i was staying in, and I went downstairs and requested one and the clerk at the front desk was very cordial and quickly provided me with one. I also asked for extra towels being I had my children with me, and the maids (when on duty). If the maids (Mallory, LeAnne, etc.) are not on duty, then you can go to the front desk and one of the clerks will be very happy to exchange dirty towels for clean ones. They are very prompt in providing extra towels. I rented out a double room and the room was very clean and the mattress was brand new and also the pillows were new. The continental breakfast served was bagels w/cream cheese, assorted cereals (hot and cold cereal), grits, milk, juice, muffins/donuts and coffee... which to me is a ... on my previous travels (10+ times) when I stop in through Jacksonville. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and willing to help as best as they can. Hairdryers/ironboards/irons are available upon request. Apparently the tv remote was missing from the room i was staying in, and I went downstairs and requested one and the clerk at the front desk was very cordial and quickly provided me with one. I also asked for extra towels being I had my children with me, and the maids (when on duty). If the maids (Mallory, LeAnne, etc.) are not on duty, then you can go to the front desk and one of the clerks will be very happy to exchange dirty towels for clean ones. They are very prompt in providing extra towels. I rented out a double room and the room was very clean and the mattress was brand new and also the pillows were new. The continental breakfast served was bagels w/cream cheese, assorted cereals (hot and cold cereal), grits, milk, juice, muffins/donuts and coffee... which to me is a decent breakfast for the price of the room I rented (I have 3 kids with me when I travel) ($79.75 for a double room tax and everything already included) per night AND if you come in between 550AM- 6AM (ONLY AT THIS TIME FRAME) and IF they have the rooms available you don't have to check out until the next day at noon... so that is like getting an extra day rent for free. I would say it is very good for the price. IF they don't have the rooms available (SOLD OUT) then you will have to wait till 3pm to rent a room and check out WILL BE 12 noon the next day. The reason why you have to wait till 3pm is because if the hotel was booked up and people are leaving at 12 noon then you have to wait for the maids to clean up the rooms that were previously occupied... so please just be patient and the friendly staff will check you in AS SOON the rooms come available.Btw, if you have a problem if you are nice and friendly and don't cop an attitude or demand the staff to take care of the issue "IMMEDIATELY" the staff at the front desk will bend over backwards to make your stay more pleasant. If you don't say anything (example: about the noise/arguing down the hall/room next door), smell of smoke in the room, fire alarm going off, someone sneaking a dog in the hotel, drunk and disorderly people) then the staff doesn't know what is going on other floors other than the first floor. Any hotel has its problems if you get people from all walks of life in one building and some who stay in a hotel and don't care how they treat other peoples property or were not taught properly how to respect other people belongings. The location is perfect for walking distance to applebee's, walmart, hooters, jacksonville mall, outback, logan's, etc. also if you need a car rental you can call enterprise and they will pick u up from the front door and take you to their establishment to set u up with a rental for however long you need it. Also this hotel is no longer called Microtel, it is called MY HOTEL... check it out... and remember to let the staff know if you have an issue, they will be more than glad to help remedy the situation at hand. I think a lot of the bad reviews are because the customer broke a rule of the hotel and snuck their dog in (only service dogs are allowed and you have to provide the papers to show the dog is a service dog) and got fined 150 dollars for doing so or they smoked in a NON-SMOKING room and got fined 150 or they got fined for damages they created and got caught on camera doing the crime. In parting I enjoy conversing with the friendly staff April, Brad, Jen, Barbara and Mallory and the breakfast room lady Eliza. If you do not want to be bothered in the morning and get your room cleaned just put out the door sign, or call the front desk and let the staff know. The staff also provides a wake up call if you request it.

Room Tip: come in at around 5:50
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    13
See reviews for
5
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This hotel was definitely amongst the worst of the worst! From the outside, the hotel appeared to be ok (at least it did at night.) The elevator was dirty and had graffiti on the walls. The hallway to the room was awful - dirty and stains everywhere. The room was even worse. The wallpaper was falling off the walls, carpets stained, no lightbulbs in the light fixtures, etc. There was also an apparent mold problem - mold was growing on the bathroom and hallway walls. The sheets actually appeared to be clean though. It also appeared the shower was fairly new. If we hadn't been travelling all day and were not completely exhausted, we would have kept on driving. Unfortunately, we stopped in Jacksonville on a weekend when there was something going on in town and all the other hotels were booked solid. I only wish I would have read these other reviews before stopping!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viva_las_vegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It was dirty. The pillow cases had blood stains on it and it just smelled nasty.

We covered the pillows with out own clothes to sleep on. I wrote a letter to Microtel and they sent me a $15 gift certificate for my next stay. It went right in the trash. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was by far the worst hotel I ever stayed at, we were supposed to stay for 3 days, I checked out after the 1st nite. The room stinks of mold, the bed had sinkhole in it....no way to sleep on it without landing in this hole. No dresser, no fridge, no coffee pot and very nasty toilet. This place had great nerve charging 65.00 a nite....what a dump!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln,ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2008

didn't even stay the night was so bad we went to another motel . Nastiest place on earth

  • Disliked — all of it was trashed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tfrogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

You name it, it is bad. The beds are terribly sway back, the internet did not work, the wallpaper is peeling. To their credit, Microtel corporate gave me a $25 credit, but I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank treb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Last Visit:August 2007
My son is a Marine and we have stayed at many hotels in J'ville over the past few years. This is the very first time at this place and the last.

1) First of all I was called twice on my way to Jacksonville to see if I was still coming. That made me mad to start with due to the fact that they already had my card number, I clearly knew the cancelation policy, and if I was not there, so what... they charge my card anyway. Yes, they called twice.

2) When I got there they told me that they were going to give me the room for 64.95 and "upgrade" me to a suite. I said fine, not knowing that the room only had one bed in it. I got in the room, which was not acceptable due to teh fact that it was myself and my 23 year old son. I called back to the front desk, told them that I needed two beds and was changed to a reg room.

3) I get in the room and there is no remote. I dont know about how they do things, but we flip channels and a remote is required to do that. They looked for one, but couldnt find one... so we went 2 days up and down to channel surf.

4) Flipflops were a requirement due to the carpet being wet around the AC unit. It was very wet and smelled even worse.

5) Lights did not work. we had two lights in teh entire room. One over the desk and one over the window seat. No lamps, nothing.

6) No ice. Ice machine did not work. There was no sign on it stating that it did not work, just didnt. So I bought ice.

7) No room service. No clean towels. Nothing.

8) Card keys did not work. I had to go to front desk x 3 to get keys programed.

9) Trash left in room from previous person. Underneath telephone table. Candy wrapper.

10) when I started to check out the room rate had gone up to 74.95, which was crazy cause this place in a total dump. I pd it. I am very upset. They offered nothing to try to make us happy. Very upset with this establishment. Plan on reporting to BBB.

  • Liked — NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS DUMP
  • Disliked — LIKE I SAID....
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#15 of 30 in Jacksonville
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites/Camp Lejeune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#22 of 30 in Jacksonville
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
#19 of 30 in Jacksonville
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Affordable Suites Jacksonville NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Motel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Motel Inn and Suites

Property: My Motel Inn and Suites
Address: 2411 Commerce Rd, Jacksonville, NC 28546-7504
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Hotel Class:2 star — My Motel Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your My Motel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Hotel Jacksonville
Microtel Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing