We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent & Authentic Mediterranean Restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakesh

Marrakesh
Ranked #1 of 247 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
JACKSONVILLE
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & Authentic Mediterranean Restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Marrakesh is an authentic Mediterranean Restaurant. When we walked in, we were warmly welcomed and quickly served. The servers provided us with consistent excellent customer service. The food was freshly prepared. The quality of the food was excellent!! Every bite was absolutely delicious! The value of portion size to cost was well worth the visit!
I personally enjoyed the scrumptious Salmon Kabob, grape leaves and fattoush salad. We will be repeat customers. :)
---signed: “One Satisfied Customer”----

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    64
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was sad to see the other location close because even though it was futher from my office/home the food tasted more fresh and the meat was moist. I find the food at the Western location to be hit or miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I found this restaurant thanks to TripAdvisor, which I checked after a terrible dining experience at the Jacksonville Mall. The Marrakesh is bit hard to find if you don't know Jacksonville, but well worth looking for. It's at 409 Western Boulevard. I had their lamb chops - tender, juicy and excellent! The tabbouleh was the way they serve it in the Middle East - freshly made, crisp, tangy! The kitchen is open to the restaurant so you can watch the food being made - just like in classier restaurants. The warm and friendly atmosphere added to my enjoyment. With a sweet, a glass of wine and a cup of Turkish coffee the total came to just under 30 USD.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, a bit slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food was excellent. They did not have lentil soup. Unfortunately, I was not able to enjoy their vegetable soup with my meal because they only serve in large bowls. Maybe add cups of soup to the menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erikaleigh210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Jacksonville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent food and service, a good wine selection (for a good price), accommodating staff, great atmosphere--especially in the lounge's dining area. Capable of accommodating small or large groups. Sometimes they have special events--a wine tasting or belly dancer.

There is a variety of Mediterranean selections and daily specials. There is also a lunch buffet that I have never tried. The food on the dinner menu is very good--tasty, fresh, and portions larger than is good for one's waistline. I recommend you try the three meat sampler on a first visit if you are a carnivore. In addition to trying a selection of meats, you can get a sampling of their salads (tabbouleh, fattoush, etc.), baba ghanoush, etc. It's a great way to explore the menu for a future visit.

One of the primary reasons we love the place is we never feel rushed as is common in so many of the other restaurants in town. The wait staff is small, but they hustle--are friendly, knowledgeable, and take things on as though it is as important to them as it must be to the owner that the patrons are very pleased with their experience.

There is a nice balance of cozy private tables and booths for a dinner out for two, as well as seating arrangements for a large party.

Great restaurant for anyone--couples, families, friends, you name it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakesh also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing