We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, local charm, needs sprucing up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Cafe

Marina Cafe
Ranked #16 of 248 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, local charm, needs sprucing up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Marina Cafe is a welcome change of pace in Jacksonville which is home to almost every restaurant chain imaginable but has few local home-town restaurants. Marina Cafe offers an interesting menu of casual Southern-style seafood items as well as more standard fare (hamburgers, sandwiches, etc.). Their hot crab dip is very good; an excellent starter. The fried flounder sandwich is also very good. Fish platters can be served either fried or grilled, I've found them tasty both ways. Prices are very reasonable. Location on the river is good. Service is friendly and efficient. The ambience is shabby and not in a chic way. Unfortunate, because I know the scruffy exterior and interior turn a lot of people off. If you can get past the (lack of) ambience and enjoy some nice casual southern seafood, this is a good choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3SBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cruise Boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

An AWESOME experience!!! My family chartered the Marina Cafe cruise boat on a weekday evening in June. We took a two hour trip which went from their dock to a little past the Air Station before we turned around for the ride back. At the mid-way point the Captain cut the engines and allowed us to put our father's ashes in the water off the bow which was exactly what he wanted. The boat was large enough that we were able to accommodate our extended family and had plenty of seating so that everyone could relax. Since they let you bring your own alcohol and food on board it was essentially a floating wake and probably the best experience we could have hoped for given the circumstances. The Captain was especially friendly and entertained our younger family members with sea stories along the trip. Do not wait until someone passes away to do this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

No FRESH SEAFOOD??? And this place has outdoor seating on THE WATER! We ordered crab dip and calamari and let me tell u it was by far the worst seafood I've ever had. The calamari was nuked in the microwave and the crab dip tasted like sweet tuna fish. After 1 bite from me and my husband we looked at each other and immediately decided to leave. They need a intervention with Robert Irvine. So sad cause they have great staff and a great location

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle5803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Marina, Jacksonville, NC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Marina doesn't look like much from the outside but inside is another story. Although it looks like the building is older, there is an outdoor seating area that overlooks the water that has great ambiance. The service was friendly and the food was good, especially the fish! On certain days they also have specials and music outside which we enjoyed. We would go there again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shugarshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great food great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

From the moment you walk in the door friendly faces and great atmosphere! The menu has a great verity and prices are reasonable. Service was quick and dinner was delish! If we were here longer I would definitely go back or if we lived here I could see us going there at least once a week...yes enjoyed it that much!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank canecorso119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Cafe also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Marina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing