We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Cafe

Marina Cafe
Ranked #16 of 248 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Waterfront Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This restaurant is situated on the river in Jacksonville NC off of route 17. Presently it is a little tricky entering the parking lot from the highway due to the road and bridge construction. The staff and manager were very nice and efficient. The building and deck are a little worn but it works. The deck faces the river and has tables with umbrellas. The menu offers simple fare with reasonable prices. Great for an afternoon lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - great way to end a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Talk about a wonderful dinner, - this was the place - great food, atmosphere, variety on the menu, everything you could ask for. Well cloth napkins are not here, but we were not looking for them. The food was just super, we had three completely different seafood plates, all done perfectly, service terrific, and the place has some personality. We are coming back — and we are from out of town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great value, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The prices at Marina Cafe are hard to beat and the food is satisfying. We weren't sure what to expect on our first visit and were pleasantly surprised. This is a casual restaurant with a social environment with a very large selection of "casual", affordable food. The nachos are enough to share with four people as an appetizer. We went once with a couple who have three young children; they were shocked to pay less than $40. Plus, the kids loved the parrot! (He was in his cage in the game room, seperate from the dining area) I have only been to the Marina Cafe three times, but I recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxed bite to eat without wanting to spend much of money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

A beach themed bar and grill. Agood place to have a gathereing of 15-20 of your friends. Waterfront environment, tour boats launch from there. Convinient to all points in town. Good food and spirits. Definitely an adult establishment. The parrot does bite.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
332 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very good local eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a good choice if you are tired of eating at the chain restaurants. Very good food, reasonably priced with good service. Get anything seafood..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Cafe also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Marina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing