We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and convenient, but so new that it's not in GPS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I arrived with my colleague at night from the Jacksonville airport, but couldn't find this hotel in his Sprint smartphone - it tries to take us to a Candlewood suites in another town. I called the hotel, and the friendly front desk lady explained why, she asked us to use the address of the nearby Holiday Inn Express, and Candlewood suites is right next to it. We found it with no problem.

Plus:
1. Low price: we got the per diem rate ($70)
2. Walking distance to Walmart.
3. Large, clean room with kitchen.
4. Friendly staff... although I only saw one. She was there when I checked in at 10 pm, answered my call at 1 am, and was there when I checked out at 7 am.

Minus:
1. The room is made only once a week. This is an extended stay hotel.
2. No free breakfast-but with its price, can't expect it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fengaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

I would be writing this except for the really UGLY comments from a couple of other guests. I have traveled to military bases every single week for the past seven years and this hotel is as nice as they come, even on Government rates. Which, by the way, was not even checked.

Moreover, I don't know what happened with the other two guests who commented here, but they must've gotten a substitute clerk or something. The rooms are beautiful - they are full suites with a kitchen area that has wood flooring and granite countertops, dishwasher, full-sized fridge, carpeting on the rest of the room, comfortable bed, big 40-something inch Flat Panel TV, big bathroom and free internet cable.

I've stayed here over two months, every Mon-Thu. If you're worried about getting misquoted, just call for your reservations ahead and write down the confirmation number - hey, it's not rocket science.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollingStoneAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

they overcharged us then avoided us the manager will not call you or talk to you, you have to get upset wth them before she will talk to you. They must teach their front desk people to overcharge then lie about it. They tell you one thing but post on their computer another thing they got it down good, they even go as far as to lie and make promises that they know they cannot keep. If you want to enjoy your trip then go somewhere else you are supposed to enjoy your trip not be stressed when you walk into the hotel we tried to make the best of the trip Jacksonville is a nice area the food is really good and there are so many hotels to choose from several new properties have been built, just STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoylife49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Okay, I was not the one who actually stayed at the hotel, it was my parents. I went with my mom to check in and this was my experience.... We were told beforehand that my parents could get the military rate if I went with them to check in since my husband is in the military and we have military IDs. So I went with my mom and thought it would be no problem...WRONG! The receptionist was very rude and thought she knew it all. She said that we had to have military orders to get the military rate. Okay, my husband and I have used the military rate frequently and have NEVER given his orders...those are classified and none of anyone's business! Anyways, I told her that their website didn't say anything about needing orders, it just said that you had to show the military ID. She said, "My husband has been a Marine for 10 years, I know how it works" I just wanted to knock her out...she was so rude to my mom and I both. She said there was some special rate they could give my mom which would take a whopping $8 off...gee thanks. But to get that, we would have to talk to a manager, who was nowhere to be found of course. So after our wonderful experience of the know-it-all beeyotch, we went up to the room which was supposed to be a King sized bed and nice suite with the fridge and all. This being a hotel that opened 3 weeks ago, we thought the rooms would be nice and big...WRONG AGAIN!!! The bed was not a king, maybe a small queen, but it could barely be classified as a queen size. It was smashed between the wall and the hard chair, so if you fell out of the dinky bed, at least you would fall into the wall or the chair! The shower head was not fancy or anything, just the plain old cheap showerhead you would buy at Walmart for $5. Where is the nice massaging showerhead in this brand new hotel? Definitely not worth all the money. My parents stayed that night since it was Christmas Eve, but when they checked out, they were told that they were the 3rd person to complain about that receptionist. They went and checked in at the Townplace Suites, where I might add, they payed the same rate as the Candlewood. They also had great service there, with no crappy receptionist who wanted to argue with everyone. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Jacksonville, go to the Townplace Suites...NOT THE CANDLEWOOD!!! With small rooms and crappy service, this new hotel may not last too long!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iumom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girl85sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
#15 of 30 in Jacksonville
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in Jacksonville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jacksonville

Address: 119 Penny Ln, Jacksonville, NC 28546-7169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $60 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jacksonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing