We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Jacksonville to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Penny Lane, Jacksonville, NC 28546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great staff!!! Feels like home. They treat you like family. They remember your name. My room was amazing and the beds were awesome! DVD player in my room, flat screen tv! I was able to cook and save some money. Felt like a queen! Everything was always spic and span!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milady_bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
14
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are updated and beds comfortable, but the bathrooms are old (my grout was a little pink and black in places around the tub), and if you are at the end of the hall, the hot water will be a little weak and slow. Thet had to replace the shower head in my room because there was no pressure at all in the old one. They were responsive and helpful in getting it done. There are no "fancy" hotels in Jacksonville and this one was just fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 9/4-6/12. It was just an ok hotel, as I've stayed in much nicer ones. They had a pool which was clean. Beds were comfortable. They don't have ice machines! because the rooms have a refrigerator and freezer, you need to remember to turn on the ice maker otherwise, you're out of luck with regards to ice for cold drinks. The front desk said the adjoining hotel (Holiday Inn?) had ice machines so they did give me a card to get access to the sister hotel and fill my bag full of ice. Good location, as there are many restaurants and fast food joints nearby. Front desk workers were very friendly. And there's complimentary coffee/tea in their pantry near the front desk. Also, they have snacks and other foods for sale but your best bet is to go to the Walmart and fill your fridge with food/drink you think you'll need while there. Thought the price was a little high but again, it was for an efficiency room. Also, there are NO smoking rooms in this hotel. That was not mentioned when I went through Expedia for this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turning50NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear turning50NewJersey,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased you found our pool and room accommodations commendable. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcoming you experience during your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

There are not too many options in Jacksonville, particularly if you are accustomed to full service hotels. Candlewood is a good option. They are clean and convenient. The have free laundry for people staying for an extended length of time. They only clean the rooms once a week. That means you make your own bed, etc. There is a full size refrigerator and microwave in the room. The rooms are not spacious at all. I could not imagine a family staying there for any length of time. There is a small workout room and a nice business center. The honor system store has free coffee.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the larger room if I returned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here on May 11. Check-in was easy and Tanesha was awesome. After we got to our room she called to inform us that the hot and cold were reversed on the shower. Never had a hotel do that. Room was very clean and the bed was comfy. Interior hallways, lobby and snack room were clean too. Parking lot is small and the spaces seemed small as well. Ended up using the Holiday Inn lot in front of Candlewood so wouldn't have to worry about door dings. Noises from hallway and other rooms/guests were barely audible in room so the family dog slept well. When the dog sleeps well so does the rest of the family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It was just what I needed: it was clean, affordable, the beds were comfy, etc. My room was equipped with a small stove, cabinets, a large fridge, and a small eating area. Wonderful for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

this is a great place for extended stay. Rooms are well equipped with full size fridge, 2 burner stove, dish washer and microwave. Rooms only have queen size beds. The rooms are well priced. Great friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
#7 of 30 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Jacksonville
2.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jacksonville

Property: Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Address: 119 Penny Lane, Jacksonville, NC 28546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Jacksonville 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing