We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of this motel!!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have never seen a nastier property! The employees/ general manager/owner are horrible!! I arrived at 5am from a 4 hour drive to check into this dump! I am a choice employee and never thought I would see a property in this shape. I checked in and went to my room. On the way there I noticed lots of trash on the way, in the halls, in the pool..just everywhere! I went into my room and turned the light on and could not believe the condition of this place! The carpet was old and stained, wouldnt dare take my shoes off! The glass in the picture above the bed was broken and they expected me to lay under that! There was a fly buzzing around on the bed..eww! I do believe he got his foot stuck in one of the many cigarette burns in the small thin blanket! I called down to the front desk and they said to come get other room keys. I went down, he didnt care, so I went to the 2nd room. This room was just as bad, nasty and smelled! I didnt have time to kill because my husband was coming home from IRAQ that morning. I changed and left. When we returned the guys jumped in the shower and realized they had dried off with a dirty towel that was hanging up! OMG! I called the front and told them everything. I told them we will not be staying there and I want my money back so that we can relocate. They refused to do that. We left and went to a wonderful Comfort Inn and Suites in New Bern miles away. I called choice hotels when I got home and they really didnt do anything, I made a complaint, the GM is required to respond to the complaint within 48 hours and I heard nothing! Choice called him and he said he didnt know he had to respond...seriously! He is the owner also! He doesnt care about the property or the guests, choice hotels doesnt either! PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS DUMP!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forgetmenott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

If you wanted to "sleep like the dead" this is not the place...sunlight was coming in through the blinds, all night i was feeling like someone was goin to come in through the door...the room did not feel clean at all there was dust all over the place....and a broken table...i've stayed here before but after staying at many different hotels the quality inn does not measure up!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This may turn into a lenghty review because I have almost NOTHING GOOD to say about this so-called hotel. To start with, I had advance reservations for a "Executive King" for two nights. To say that the room they gave me was an Executive King was a joke! It was a room with a king sized bed and a desk that held one laptop on the desk surface. It was very hot when I was there, so I had the A/C on. I thought someone was trying to come through the wondow, but realized that it was the A/C unit making a god awful noise. I called to the front desk and asked to either have the unit exchanged or a different room. Samantha, the young lady at the front desk, who get's all the kudo's in the world from me, stated that she would see what she could do.The next thing I know, Samantha is at my room because "Norman" the GM told her to go check to see what the noise was I was referring to? Samantha heard the noise and said that she would tell Norman and see what they are going to do. A short while later Samantha returns and said that the only room available is a room with a double bed. I told Samantha that that was not acceptable. I reserved a "Executive King" which itself is a joke, I will not be downgraded to a room with a double bed, that I should get a room of equal or better value, is the proper way to go. Samantha agreed, but is following Norman's instructions. The next thing I know, Norman is at my room. Norman is trying to tell me that because I am a "single traveler", a double bed is more than adequate for me. I told Norman that I WILL NOT accept a downgrade in room, That he has the choice of "upgrading" or refunding my credit card and I would find another hotel. He absolutely refused to refund payment and told me to accept the double bed room or leave. I tolld Norman that I am a so-called "Diamond" traveler with his parent company (Choice Hotels) and I will file a complaint with them on his attitude and lack of hospitality, and further advise my employer so no one else would be subjected to this establishment.
The next thing I know, Samantha is at my room with the "key's" to a suite that Norman will put me in. I wanted to see this room first to assure that it was acceptable. Apparently good housekeeping staff is at a premium because they did not have any at this hotel. Rooms are just barely clean, but accepted and I moved to this other room for my stay. To say that it was a suite is a joke. It was slightly larger than what I originally had and a larger desk in it but that is about the only difference. The desk was being held up by the wall it was leaning against because of broken legs, the cobwebs in the ceiling were a definate distraction, and the stains on the carpeting , well take a look at the pictures and you tell me if you would pay the going rate of $150.00 plus for a so-called suite. The rates that this hotel charges for a room are extremely high for what you get, but I guess Norman is used to dealing with the young G.I.'s from Camp Lejune that stay there for the weekend to party. To give you an idea of this establishment, I awoke the following morning to several "business card's" shoved under my door for escort services and certain nightlife activities! Samantha was working the desk the folowing day and I commented to her about the business card's. She stated that that takes place everyday here. The drunk and passed out G.I.'s sleeping in cars in the parking lot, guest trolling the parking lot at all hours of the night. Samantha get's an A+ from me as she is the only saving grace at this hotel with her personality and true knowledge of what hospitality is. It is a shame that she is working here as she would shine at a better hotel.
I would strongly recommend to anyone that is traveling to this area, spend the extra money for a different hotel and not stay here. Norman, as it was suggested to me by hotel employees is like this with everyone and does not change, so you can imagine what you are up against. A General Manager that has NO IDEA of what the term HOSPITALITY is about. CHOICE HOTELS would do itself a great honor by removing there association from this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Trbl4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I was told that there is some slight music from the lounge. LIES. I would have been better off sleeping in my car. I write this at 12:42am and I am still hearing the base from the lounge and the club they have there. Not only does the club have loud base music but the parking lot looks and sounds like a scene from need for speed. All sorts of racing cars and loud music playing.

I am suppose to stay here for 4 nights, I am checking out in the AM and going to another hotel. This hotel was 76.95 a night, I think I would rather spend $100 a night and not feel like I'm gonna get attacked heading to my room.

Front door doesn't close all the way
Water pressure in the shower is questionable
TV channels are mostly stuck on MUTE
Air conditing wants to work when it wants to work
Pillows are the size of throw pillows and not real pillows

Heater works extremely well
Room is very clean
Bed is very comfy (but the king is more like a queen)
Fridge & Microwave seem to be in good working order

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marine4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This place is disgusting, the rooms are dirty, the bathroom stinks and I would never, ever recommend this place. The staff needs to learn customer service.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank ruby2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Quality Inn Hotel, the staff were very freindly. I will stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dove1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

If you are looking for prostitutes, drunks hanging out in the lobby and parking lot, really nasty carpet, water damaged rooms, visious odors you will be right at home with the dance club upstairs. One of our rooms had a body impression in the wall and you could see into the wall. awfull smell they let us look at another room it was just as bad. The single King was liveable but not Quality the bar was the worst with people everywhere and another unsatisified customer said his car had been puked all over and yhe clerk said he was not Liabel SORRY! We did not even stay the night there as the noise and safety issues over road the cost of our rooms which was not refunded.We went right down the street and were fine and clean with comfort.BE CAREFULL WHAT YOU BOOK ON LINE READ THE REVIEWS.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alltrimtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
#20 of 30 in Jacksonville
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#23 of 30 in Jacksonville
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Jacksonville
Motel 6 Jacksonville
#27 of 30 in Jacksonville
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
1.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Jacksonville, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 701 N Marine Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28540-6144 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Jacksonville
Quality Inn Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing