We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of El Cerro Grande

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Cerro Grande
Ranked #132 of 251 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Restaurant details
Cook Forest State Park
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

we usually dont eat mexican but this was a change for us and it was really good!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This one is great, but don't eat at the one on the other side of town”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We love this El Cerro Grande, the food is good and service is friendly.
A warning though: We ate at the one on the other side of town recently, thinking it would be just as good, but I would never, ever recommend it to anyone. To start with, they messed up our entire order and we only got half of it. We had to call a waiter over to get the rest of it (not our server by the way....our waitress completly ignored us after she took our order). No one ever came to our table to offer refills on our drinks, and we had to hunt someone down to get our bill. There was an employee sitting at the bar in the front of the restaurant eating, and I had to ask her to ring us up so we could pay. Then a few hours after we left, two of us got violently sick and stayed that way through the next day. We think it was food poisioning from the guacamole (that is what we narrowed it down to because it was the only thing the two of us ate that the others didn't). So if you are going to eat at El Cerro Grande, don't get them confused: make sure you go to the one on Western Blvd because the one on Hwy 17 is horrible.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank covermeimgoingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love the drink specials!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I come here when we want Mexican. The staff is great and theu always have drink specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skrx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc coast
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We love the food here and come here often for lunch. The food, service and atmosphere are great. Highly recommend to our friends. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NcHarleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Went twice while I was in town, the service, food and margaritas were great!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cerro Grande also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to El Cerro Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing