We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay only if desperate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay only if desperate.”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed to go to cousins wedding. The reason for staying was of group rate. Would not have stayed here if not for rate. Hotel needs to be renovated bad.

The staff was friendly and helpfull. Free breakfast, many shopping and food places near by.


The bad rm wallpaper peeling from top. I would only stay here if i was having a one night stand. After that, I would leave.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenlight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    21
    14
    15
See reviews for
47
14
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Channel 70 Productions crew stayed here while working a project at the very nearby Marine Corps base. Our USMC point of contact unofficially recommended this CF facility. It's adequate, though worn, and, overall, a fair value. The desk clerk was welcoming and check in was fast. When a burned out light bulb needed replaced, it was done within minutes of the call to the front. Food was within walking distance. The neighborhood was safe since there were a zillion Marines out and about. If the property was refurbed, it would get a top rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs,MS
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I have to say, this will be my last visit. Upon our arrival check in went smoothly, however, the clerk, although effiicient, was not friendly at all. I don't think she cracked a smile,

Our room was clean and comfortable, although there were signs of wear and tear. My biggest complaint was the lack of hot water in the shower. I thought the water may be cool because I was showering at a high peak time, however, after a few days I realized this was not the case.

The plus side of this hotel was the friendly housekeepers. I must say they were very pleasant, and went out of their way to be helpful.

Overall, this is a comfortable hotel, and nice for an overnight stay, but it is definetly showing its age.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel caters mainly to military and business clientele. The hotel is average at best. I would not recommend for families on vacation, single ladies or couples looking for a romantic getaway. The pool, which I suspect is rarely used, is modest at best. The exercise room is small and unkept. The employees didn't appear enthusiastic about their work. Environment seemed dated. Rooms were okay - certainly not suites. Strickly a business atmosphere.

On the flip side, the hotel is a sound place to stay for business travelers to the Jacksonville area. It is walking distance to a number of stores and restaurants. It serves a better than average breakfast. It offers a manager's reception on Wednesday and Thursday evenings, which is a great way to end a working day. Good TV's and wireless internet access.

The hotel is not up to standards with other Comfort Suites but it will work if needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperBonum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Bottom Line Up Front - This hotel is one of the worst I have EVER stayed in. It is an older hotel but that isn't the reason. It is because of a culture of laziness apparent throughout all levels of the staff.

I arrived with a group of three other travelers. Of the four of us, two had to change rooms immediately and one had two change rooms twice more...all in a three day stretch. I am hoping that they write reviews themselves but this one will focus on my experience.

During my stay both the phone in the room as well as the coffee pot broke. In the case of the coffee pot it was the on/off button that popped off. I overheard the maid that apparently cleaned my room tell the front desk clerk during my checkout that she had noticed this a couple days prior so I was stunned that nothing was done about it.

Rooms aren't cleaned very well...at all! When I first arrived there was a long hair on the sink of my bathroom. I swept it onto the floor and figured it would be cleaned the next day. The attached picture of the hair was taken on the 3rd day of my stay...after the THIRD cleaning... That example goes for the rest of the room as well. Trash was only cleaned up if it was inside of the trash cans. Fast food drink cups that were empty and left next to the trash can were left there.

On one afternoon, since my coffeepot was broken, I went down to get coffee from the lobby. There were no guests there and it wasn't busy at all. Yet the coffee was all empty except for one, and the small trash can next to the coffee pot was overflowing (see the picture). All of this while the receptionist appeared to be texting/emailing on her phone.

The rooms have mold problems (God forbid you open your curtains and look at your window), and are in general disrepair (see picture of tile floor from my bathroom).

I have stayed in a number of Comfort Suites that were great. It isn't the age of the hotel that makes a stay decent. It is the attitude and attentiveness of the staff. Even the mean looking lady who ran breakfast (the one wearing black croc sandals) could have made a difference merely by returning my "good morning" instead of glaring at me like she hated life.

I highly recommend that you stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyHerAway_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSNC017, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
First off I would like to thank you for pointing out the concerns that you had during your stay here at Comfort Suites. I would like to extend an apology for the behavior of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel during your time of stay. We are under new management as of August 2012 and all of our staff has been retrained or replaced. We are undergoing a huge transformation and although it is a long process our remodel is going well, we are replacing all of the mattresses, repainting all of the guest rooms, and replacing the bathtubs in all of the guest rooms. We would love to see you back here and hopefully we will have the opportunity to impress you. Please feel free to contact our fantastic front desk staff and they will be very happy to book your next stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

san diego
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at the comfort suites in Jacksonville about 2 weeks ago. When i checked in i was greeted by warm smiling faces and a couple of ladies that were very well mannered. We came to town to visit our son at Camp Lejuene. During our stay we needed extra towels and the lady at the front desk told us she would get them to us in about 5 minutes and she got them up to our room in just a few moments. Ive stayed at other hotels where they acted like this would of been an inconvenience so i appreciated her mannerism. They also gave me milk for the baby (even though the breakfast area was locked), and they made sure we felt at home the way they spoke to us and carried on conversations. It showed my family we weren't just customers we were their guests. I would highly recommend this hotel for future stays!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We don't typically stay at these hotels. However, after this stay we will start. The rooms were very clean, up to date appearance, and the price was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTamRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 30 in Jacksonville
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
MainStay Suites Camp Lejeune
#14 of 30 in Jacksonville
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Camp Lejeune
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#15 of 30 in Jacksonville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Jacksonville

Property: Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Address: 130 Workshop Ln, US 17 N, Jacksonville, NC 28546-7554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Jacksonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing