We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

Dressler's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Dressler's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 150 Restaurants in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 73 off I-77
Description: Dressler's is an upscale contemporary restaurant with patio dining, featuring a menu of steak, imaginative seafood, and creative appetizers paired with an extensive wine list and full service bar specializing in martini's, ports, and single malt scotches. Dressler’s has a close-knit group of managers who have worked together for many years. Chef Scott Hollingsworth,Managers-John Glenn and Johnathan Williford, and Bar Manager Kevin McNamara have worked with owner Jon Dressler for 17 years combined. The camaraderie and warmth are obvious from the moment you walk through the doors. An accommodating staff will ensure that your experience is memorable. The 130-seat, 5190-square-foot, Dressler’s Restaurant is a people place located in that new urbanism, people-driven shopping outpost of Birkdale Village. The interior is subdued and relaxed; yet polished. Walls are accented with warm stone, earth tones, and water features. Kim Dressler, wife and co-owner, did the interior desi
Dallas, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A very attentive wait staff made dinner even more of a treat. Their filet is excellent. Valet parking is a plus, parking can be difficult in this area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gudguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    43
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vibrant area and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dressler’s atmosphere is modern and energetic and the tables are place rather close together. The décor was typical modern designed to amplify sound rather than absorb it. The food was very good. Wait staff was good. I think they would have been very good if it had not been so busy. Consideration should be given to the fact that we visited during Charlotte’s restaurant week and it was probably busier than normal. Overall, however, very good food and a good dining experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KNV_tamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We eat here alot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Dresslers is a fabulous family owned restaurant. They have a couple locations. I have eaten at both tens of times.

If you like local owership, Jon and Kim fit the bill. Jon walks his shops frequently and loves feedback. The wait staff is phenomenal. For example, Asa, at the Midtown location, is from Chicago and has worked at many fine dining establishments. He rates Dresslers' as the best he has worked at. Management is kind to their staff. Good people, making good food. It is nice to see a place where the staff is consistent. Birkdale is the same. John Glenn and crew have been there for years.

The menu doesnt change much. They have great offerings and after a couple seatings, you can order without a menu. Food is awesome.
If there was a an area I wish they would look into, it would be more exoic specials.

I eat out alot for business and pleasure. Vendors love this place as the steaks area as good as you can get. My wife loves Dresslers too. More impressively, I work with folks who travel in from Mobile and they rave about the seafood and grits. Those who have lived on the gulf coast tend to be easily disappointed in inland seafood. Dresslers delivers. I think their grits are specially purchased as well. If you are a grit efficianado, you can appreciate that.

The chocolate lava cake is a favorite of my daughter. Yes, my kids have the menu memorized. Sometimes we have to Dresslers because my 12yr old daughter demands it.

If you havent been to Dresslers and you like good food, you need to go. If you are a James Beard only type of foodie, you may pretend like you wont eat here as much but you will by lying to yourself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank supersyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was really looking forward to trying out this place. We were seating right in the middle of the restaurant and we could hear all of the conversations at our neighboring tables better than we could hear each other. We ordered the crab cake appetizer ($11) and we got a little bit bigger than a silver dollar sized cake with about 1/2 of of salad greens. It was delicious, but way OVERPRICED for what we got. I ordered the organic chicken with mac and cheese. My chicken was dry (obviously overcooked) and the mac and cheese was just ok. My husband got a steak with mashed potatoes and even thoguh he ate it all, he said the strak was a bit overdone for what he ordered. His mashed potatoes were tasty. We ordered only water to drink and had no desert (just the appetizer and 2 dinners) and the bill was over $50. Insane for what we got. Fair pricing if it was as good as other reviiews touted it to be. Oh, and the cheap artwork on the walls is distracting. Get some real art.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msredinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Don't save this for just a special occasion!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We bought a couple of Groupons for Dressler's and so have dined there more often than usual lately. As we were sitting drooling over our grouper and halibut entrees the other evening, we both said at the same time...we have to make this an at least once a month place! The food is so consistently imaginative, well prepared and presented and the wait staff so friendly and knowledgeable it's a shame to save it only for special occasions!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dressler's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cornelius, NC
 

Been to Dressler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing