We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Guacamole!”
Review of Baja Soul Taqueria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baja Soul Taqueria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy Guacamole!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food was great. We ordered chicken tacos and tableside guacamole. Fried plantains were delicous as well. Fun atmosphere with a touch screen on our table to navigate the TV in our booth. It was entertaining taking photos and playing music videos. Staff was friendly and attentive. Festive decor. Great location in Birkdale Village. I will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Happy and delicious place!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Three friends and I went to Baja after seeing Argo, and we agreed -- we really like it! Two friends had the Grinco Chicken tacos and loved them, perhaps because they asked for the salsa on the side so they could use the right amounts for their taste. I had avocado tacos, yum! We all loved the street corn, ordering it off the cob so it was easy to eat. Finally, a delicious Top-Shelf margarita. Very tasty meal!
The atmosphere is fun, too -- not too loud when we were there and pretty, with colored lights in the ceiling and videos all around. I'm happy with the changes in this convenient location in Birkdale and will go often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soooo Good”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

So refreshing to have somethin other than typical Tex-Mex garbage. Very Flavorful. Great margaritas, decent tequila selection

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small Portions”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food tasted great, but the portions were small. Also, they stopped serving the dish that incorporated an entire fish, which was a bummer. Other than that, I would probably still visit because the flavor was on point.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The only problem I had was the lackluster food. I was not bowled over by the Grinco Chicken tacos. Why? Well, I'm not sure, it was just bland and wasn't to my liking. Hard to put my finger on. I was not impressed w/the fried plantains either, they were a bit soggy for me. I am used to having them cut into medallions and these were quartered, so they weren't quite done enough for me. The flavor was pretty good, the texture and consistency: not so much. I also had a side of the "Wait a Minute" sauce. It was pretty good. Although, if I go back (which I am inclined to do) I will get something w/a little more bite. The server was very thourogh and competent. The draught beer list was pretty good, with several local selections. My friend and I were seated outside, as it was an awesome day to do so. It was early afternoon. So I didn't really get a good look at the interior, but what I saw, was pretty cool. I noticed that they had lights strung around the awning and I'm betting that it gives off a pretty cool ambiance at night. I would give this place another try. Maybe the cook was new/didn't know what they were doing...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newgreergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Soul Taqueria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing