We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best Pet Friendly hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best Pet Friendly hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

While helping my son move we stayed at this hotel. We had a heck of a time finding a pet friendly hotel in this area. Many of the pet friendly hotels we have stayed have been a bit run down, or at least have given us the run down rooms. Not at this hotel. It was completely fine. The room was very clean and up to date.

We have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times we had a very good experience.

The hotel is within a mile of a very nice and rather large outdoor shopping area - Birkdale Village.

Within 2 miles is a large selection of restaurants.

The hotel has easy access to I-77. Only about 2 miles from the entrance.

Both times we found the staff to be very helpful and extremely friendly.

The breakfast is good and the area is nice and large.

The parking area is large including adjacent parking which will easily accommodate a moving truck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
13
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stay at Marriott properties all the time, and this one was typical. I found the hotel and my room clean with no issues observed like the previous reviewer. With a family of 4, the included breakfast is always a good deal. The proximity to the Birkdale Village Mall was a plus, with shopping and several food selections. There is also plenty of food choices nearby, by the freeway.

I mistakenly reserved a King room, instead of a 2 room suite and there were none available to move into. This was a bummer for my kids since they had to sleep on an uncomfortable sofa bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when we had to move out of our house whilst some work was being done. The staff generally were very pleasant. The seating in the lounge area consisted of an uncomfortable, and rather worn, armchair and a strange, and uncomfortable chaise lounge. We chose to lie on the bed to watch TV the seating was so uncomfortable.

In general the suite was reasonably clean with two exceptions... the handles on the refrigerator need a real scrub because of ingrained dirt and the return air vent for the A/C was covered with dust. The other negative was that the A/C was so noisy we put it off at night.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the swimming pool have a pleasant view but one night someone played basket ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night on July 5th and was horrified by the filthy room and hallways. Upon entering the hotel I was surprised by how nice it was for economy lodging. We checked in with Tina - a very helpful and friendly employee. Upon exiting the elevator we were greeted by used Q-Tips (cotton swabs) on the floor of the hallway - this was incredibly off-putting, however, I assumed that another visitor had recently littered - revolting. It was still there 5 hours later.

Once we entered the room it seemed to be clean and spacious. I walked into the bathroom to find the soap dish in the shower filled with pink soap scum and body hair. Looking around the floor was covered in hair, mold, as well as yellow surface stains (near the toilet - yes...). The shower curtain was also speckled with mold. In addition, the beds and pillows are not comfortable.

If you are visiting Lake Norman there are not many hotel options around. We stayed at the Hampton Inn the first two nights and although they were renovating the lobby found it to be much more comfortable.

As a previous platinum member I am familiar w/ Marriott and expected more. I highly recommend you do not stay here.

Room Tip: Explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank global84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we needed it for. We were traveling South and wanted a nice halfway point where our 2 year old would be able to sleep in one room while we stayed up in another and where pets were accepted. We were only there about 10 hours so I can't really say how I would feel about a longer stay, but worked great for us. We did ask for a crib when I booked and it wasn't in the room, it wasn't a big deal, it was already late and we just put our daughter between us in the King bed.

Breakfast wasn't very good, but it's included so no big deal. Next time we travel like this I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunDrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A year before my wedding I booked a block of 30 rooms. All rooms were booked 2 weeks prior. One week prior to my wedding, the sales team called and said they had to move 10 of my guests (who were coming in from all over the United States) to the Courtyard Marriott down the street because a VIP group worth a lot more money extended their stay.
Normally, this wouldn't be a big deal, but we scheduled all of our activities within walking distance of the hotel and we rented a shuttle to get them back and forth to and from the wedding. Additionally, a lot of our guests are family and haven't seen each other in a number of years.
With the additional hotel property added, the shuttle time had to be extended and we incurred more costs. The only resolution they offered us was a $10 discount to our guests at the Courtyard.
I will never recommend this hotel and have never been treated with such poor service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forbes627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were really looking forward to this hotel, the setup (2 bedroom suite) seemed ideal for us and a phone call to enquire about hairdressers had run into a friendly and efficient answer. On arrival, we were told there was no extra bed, though the reservation (made in the chain's own website) had "noted" our request and a fee for it was quoted in the reservation; no effort was made to help, even though the hotel had weeks to warn us about the fact that they could not provide a service they knew we wanted; we really wanted 4 beds for the 4 adult relatives staying and 2 had to share a bed - and the king and queen were not as big as in other places, plus the sofabed was not particularly good and when open did not allow movement around it in spite of a large living area. The second problem was that a hotel in a very quiet area had an incredibly noisy a/c unit (and shutting it down did not work, as those from others rooms made a similar racket if opening the window instead). To top it all, a single switch for light and a very noisy fan in the bedroom means use at night has to be in the dark or making a racket sure to wake up the other person in the room, plus both bathrooms are ensuite meaning any one using the sofabed has to walk through a bedroom to get to one. The kitchen was not overequipped, only 2 glasses and 2 wine gobelets while set up for 4 and no glasses nor even plastic cups to use in the bathrooms. For a place that is more expensive than similar hotels in the area, the added benefit of the living area did not compensate for the shortcomings at a cost similar to that of two 2-bed rooms in similar hotels, which we would have taken had we known we would not get 4 reasonable beds... and the noise was just bizarre. On the positive side, breakfast was better than expected (other than for the plastic stuff on Sunday) and the staff pleasant and helpful other than the total lack of any attempt to solve the bed problem on arrival.

Room Tip: Avoid if you dislike noise, the setup with a/c seemed similar in all rooms. Ask if they have any whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#6 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
#5 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Huntersville Inn & Suites Near Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
Address: 16830 Kenton Dr, Huntersville, NC 28078-4853
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Residence Inn Huntersville
Huntersville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing