We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family's fav. place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
“My family's fav. place to stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our family has stayed here numerous times and have always been treated with respect and have truly enjoyed our experience!!! They have a delicious breakfast, beautiful living area, an awesome indoor pool and a great environment for families and anyone who wants to just relax and kick heir feet up. The fact that they have a refrigerator and microwave in the rooms is a total bonus too!!!!! Jane Blackwell, the Director of Sales was especially accommodating and sweet. If they did a commercial there, I wanna be in it :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lora r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    163
    59
    44
    29
See reviews for
319
136
30
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked this hotel after reading all the positive reviews on this site but somehow not one seemed to mention their website's false advertising. Upon arrival I noticed that the entrance was not as grand and open as it appeared to be in the pictures. Next thing I noticed was how untidy the complimentary coffee area was and I am big on cleanliness. It turns me off to see crumbs, dirt and dust build up. I also noticed all the wear and tear of the hotel. Major wear down, scuff marks on the rugs, walls, floors. The trim in the lobby and rooms were falling apart and in need of major updating. There was a hole in our room wall (no wall plate) exposing cable wires so we asked to be switched to a better room without charge and they knidly accomadated that request. The hotel seemed to have been partly updated so not all was lost but the pictures on their website are very deceiving.

Also you do not get that grand breakfast as advertised (which was one of the main reasons we booked). When we got to the dining area there were microwaveble jimmy dean sausage biscuits and egg omelets and not the made to order omelets as shown on their "Be Our Guest Breakfast". The only food that was freshly made were the belgian waffles you make yourself on the waffle maker. When I went back to their website to check where the mistake had been made I saw in microscopic fine print that selections vary by day and hotel. So deceiving. So now every time I go to book a hotel I'll be sure to search for microscopic fine prints so not to be mislead again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
On behalf of the Country Suites Lake Norman, please allow me to say that we are sorry to hear of the challenges you faced while staying at our property. We pride ourselves on being able to offer a comfortable place to stay, coupled with great amenities, and an attentive staff. From your comments, you did not experience that while at our property, and for that, we sincerely apologize.
We will be addressing the items that you mentioned, and greatly appreciate your feedback. We will use the knoweldge gained to ensure that we are continuously working to improve in needed areas so that we can acheieve increased guest satisfaction.
If you are in our area again, we hope that you will please consider giving us a second chance. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

i have stayed here many times from 2008 to 2010. staff r helpfull and very friendly, the lobby is very homey and they have a happy hour where pple can mingle. rooms were clean and comfortable. bathroom clean. liked everything about this hotel. usualy stay here when the price is under $100.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetopaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
On behalf of the staff at Country Suites Lake Norman, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. We take pride in offering generous, honest hospitality to our guests and I am so pleased to see that you experienced that.
Our spacious, inviting lobby is perfect for hosting our Guest Socials every Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday night. This is just one of the great perks we offer, and we truly enjoy getting to know our guests!
Thank you for your continued patronge of our property and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

For the price, this hotel is exceptional!

We booked this room to stay at before and after a Nascar race (It's about 20-25 min from the track) and were pleasantly suprised by how nice it was. I would certainly say, for what we paid, it exceeded our expectaions.

We not only got a nice king sized bed, but a completely seperate sitting room with couch/chair and a 2nd flatscreen TV.

There's also a kitchenette sort of thing with fridge and microwave which was handly.

It was clean, and you got the impression that the owners and staff cared about the place which is something that should be a given but that you don't see everywhere.

Nearby are quite a few chain restaraunts. What was a little odd was a collection of closed/abandoned ones as well....not sure what happened there....but there's definitley enough in the area for whatever you are looking for.

I'd recommend this hotel t in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has no ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsar_Bomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had the best time ever. Had a King Suite with a shared balcony. Even though the balcony and room faced I77, we never had any trouble sleeping. Quite enjoyed sitting out with a cocktail and watching the traffic go by. Wonderful staff and could not do enough for you. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COBBLEROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbilt, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Great customer service! Their breakfast bar is one of the best I have ever had in any hotel. The suite was perfect for 4 people. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeVo_49795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2010

To be honest, when I booked this hotel, I wasn't really expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised from the beginning. The hotel entrance was very nice, set up with a guest reception which included drinks and snacks. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfy and a variety of pillows were available. The couch and chairs were all in excellent condition and very comfortable. We were right beside the interstate, but our room was surprisingly quite. The free breakfast was impressive with both the quantity and quality of items available. But, the best feature of this hotel was the staff. Everyone was pleasant, friendly and eager to help. My kids were made to feel welcomed right along with the business travelers. It was a great experience all around!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Huntersville Inn & Suites Near Lake Norman
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#6 of 12 in Huntersville
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Huntersville
Quality Inn Huntersville
#10 of 12 in Huntersville
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Address: 16617 Statesville Rd, Huntersville, NC 28078-7193
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Huntersville
#2 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer bountiful amenities designed to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable stay. Refuel with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, relax in our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, reconnect on our complimentary high speed wireless internet, and rest well in a one bedroom suite featuring your choice of a plush king size bed or two queen size beds. Our suites feature additional space in the living room which is separated by a door that shuts. In your suite you will find a refrigerator, microwave and (2) plasma flat screen TVs. Above all, you will enjoy true southern hospitality through our staff’s willingness to ensure your stay is remarkable. Enjoy all our region has to offer, with easy access to Charlotte, Birkdale Shopping and Golf Course, Huntersville Aquatic Center, Bradford Park, Historic Latta Plantation, and beautiful Lake Norman. For a comfortable and rewarding stay, we invite you to reserve your group at the Country Suites Lake Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Country Inn Huntersville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing