We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Racine, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, dirty, dirty”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Huntersville on June 17. After our arrival, my husband and our daughters went to the pool. It was so full of debris that my husband had to skim the pool prior to their swimming. Simultaneously, I discovered that the hot water in our vanity was not working. When I reported it to the front desk staff, his reply was, "All I can do is move you to another room." I declined, and my husband was able to fix the hot water problem by turning on the valve. When my family returned to the room, my 6 year old discovered a hair in the tub that did not belong to us. The next morning our breakfast was less than desirable - poor selection to say the least. As we prepared to vacate our room, my husband discovered several pieces of trash, including a can, an empty bottle, an open bag of chips, and a candy wrapper that had not been removed from our room by housekeeping prior to our arrival. The front desk staff gave us a $20 deduction in our bill but little sympathy. We are very disappointed in our experience and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
First, my sincere apologies for the issues you describe experiencing during your recent visit with us. We hate to hear these things but do appreciate your taking the time to bring them to our attention. Please be assured that our Executive Housekeeper is addressing the condition of your guestroom with her staff. Clearly it was unacceptable and far below our normally high standards. Currently our pool maintenance schedule is being evaluated for any changes or modifications that will consistently provide an enjoyable, relaxing visit to our swimming pool.
We are also looking into the breakfast selection that was served on the date you noted to see why it was different from our normal daily fare. Perhaps items were not replenished as quickly as they might have been or breakfast was coming to a close. Whatever we find the issue to be, it will remedied.
I am expecially sorry that we were not able to satisfy your concerns prior to your leaving. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is critical to our success. Please contact me directly should you find yourself in the area again as I would personally like to have you enjoy our usually great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    53
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
53
39
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel was extremely clean and modern. The rooms were great. The staff was excellent. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiferoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent customer care and hospitality. Great Staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Holiday Inn Express & Suites was totally renovated and with clean, fresh and modern decor opened in 2010. We're thrilled you both enjoyed and appreciated all of the little details that went in to making our guests feel comfortable and cared for while staying with us.
We appreciate your business and your comments and look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Thank you.
Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We chose this hotel because it is pet free and smoke free. I cannot sleep in a room that had pets staying, so I look for smoke free and pet free places. We were not disappointed with this Hotel, Coming through the lobby it looks like an old hotel, but the rooms are modern, very clean and spacious with a sitting area.. I appreciated the little dressing room with mirror. Many hotels just have one mirror, this had four, which is great. i could use one mirror while my husband used the other.All rooms have refrigerators and microwave ovens with separate counter and sink. The staff were great and very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner was in the sitting area away from the bed, thus air is not blowing on you all night. We were on the fifth floor, very quiet. Beds were comfortable and pillows great. The breakfast had a wide variety of cold and hot food. The egg omlet with cheese was tasty. Sausages were also available.Coffee was good My husbands razor became dull during our travels, Sean at the front desk provided him with complimentary razor and shaving lotion, which my husband greatly appreciated. A very comfortable, clean and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travel to Charlotte, NC an average of once a month. After a few stays at other properties I came across this Holiday Inn Express in Huntersville and have returned every month for the past year.

The staff does such a great job of making their guests feel welcome and really go out of their way to make your stay a good one. It's a great location off of 1-77 and easy access to most everything in the Charlotte area.

After a long day of meetings it is nice to come back to the hotel and find that a full dinner is served a couple of nights a week as part of the management's reception.

Thanks to all of the great staff @ Huntersville!

MM

Room Tip: Book in advance and save $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences and your time in writing your review of our hotel. The greatest compliment you've given is that you have chosen to stay with us each month over the last year. It's a pleasure to see the familiar faces of our great guests each time they visit us. Know that we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This HI Express was clean, easy to access (near I-77) and had a good setup for the morning breakfast. Stayed 3 nights and was definitely satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ Frustration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you! We greatly appreciate your time and your feedback . This provides us with a true perspective of our guest's experience and a good measurement of our service. We hope your experience will prompt another visit to our hotel so that we may thank you in person.
Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown, wv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family and I were heading home from Disney world and stopped at this location at 4 am to get a room. The front desk staff said that they were overbooked by had just ran his nightly numbers and found us a room! He was so very accommodating and kind to us (especially at the time that we arrived!) The room was a large king size bedroom with a comfortable pull out bed and perfect for my wife and 2 little ones. There was a sitting area and a nice work area that the kids enjoyed using the next morning for their daily artwork! The entire staff was amazing and we are planning on re-routing our next southern trip to make sure that we stop and stay at this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review of our hotel and staff. It's gratifying to know that even at 4:00am the service you experienced motivated you to take the time to review our hotel and guest service on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your doing so. We also want to thank you for your business and let youu know that we look forward to seeing you on your next trip South!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#5 of 12 in Huntersville
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Huntersville Inn & Suites Near Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Address: 16905 Caldwell Creek Dr, Huntersville, NC 28078-8073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huntersville
#6 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntersville/Birkdale, the newest addition to the beautiful Lake Norman area. Minutes from area attractions and the Charlotte metro area, this hotel is near an array of unique shopping, dining and recreational options, many within walking distance. Our all new hotel features 91 fresh, modern, state-of-the-art guestrooms and suites. We offer many amenities both leisure and business travelers appreciate like free wireless high-speed Internet access, 32” flat panel LCD TVs, microwaves, compact fridges and wet bars. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is Conveniently located at exit 25 of the I-77 just minutes from Birkdale Village and nearby companies such as Ingersoll Rand, Newell Rubbermaid and McGuire Nuclear station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Hawthorn Suites Huntersville
Huntersville Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing