We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicely appointed room”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Decent price, good location & well appointed room. Towels softer than normal for the room price. Large fridge, a stove, microwave, dishwasher and dishes. No free breakfast but we were able to prepare breakfast in the room. Quiet room location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponchy6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkncandlewoodsales, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ponchy6567,

Thank you for choosing our Candlewood Suites as "Your home away from home" I was very excited to hear the positive feedback about your stay. I apologize for the delay in responded, we have implemented new procedures to great shorten our response time. We truly appreciate all feedback and are especially pleased when our guests experience is great! Our property team works really diligently to make sure every experience is unique and wonderful. So thank you again for your feedback and welcome to the Candlewood Suites Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
30
29
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I want to preface this review stating the fact that this is my first "extended stay in a hotel". We were there 16 while our house was finished. Like most extended stays there is not lobby to speak of. When we checked in we were put in a room that had a horrible moth ball type smell. We were than switched to the 3rd floor which had a strong smell of smoke in the hall way when it is supposed to be a smoke free floor. The suites are small and not updated, this gives a general feel of uncleanliness even if the rooms may be clean. My wife and kids all developed alergies while in the hotel and were constantly stuffy. It dissapeared the day after we left. I think i did not have problems due to how much time I spend in hotels. There is a pull out bed and separate bedroom, microwave, dishwasher, and two flat screen TV's.
There is only once per week service and I was given no direction on how to get new towels and what to do with accumulating trash. It appeared nobody else knew either because trash was set in the hall way and stuffed in the stair wells (which i frequented to let our dog out). I finally found out that you took the trash to the office (Really?) and you got towels from the office, but only one for one on what you brought down.
A good thing is that they provide free use of washers and dryers and have a small reasonably priced snack room that is on the honor system. They also have free coffee. I realize that most of the clientelle at the hotel seemed to be out of town construction or utility contractors by the presence of a sea of white pick-ups in the parking lot. Tatiana was nice and helpful.
The hotel is in a pretty good area with easy access to several restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brianm99,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

not much here, old & tired rooms. Fitness center rundown. Rooms had furniture soo old i thought i was stuck in the 80's. Elevator extremely slow. Friendly checkin and checkout. Heavy traffic area, if you are using I-77 better leave very early.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi2457, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much Bigmook!

We appreciate you choosing the Candlewood Suites Huntersville for your previous stay in Huntersville, NC. I'm sorry that we dropped the ball and did not live up to expectations, and that is disappointing! Management agrees with you; our rooms are in need of a few upgrades! I'm proud to say this fall we are implementing a new bedding package; including bed skirts, comforters, pillows, and sheets! The whole package! Also, our furniture is getting a facelift too! New desk chairs and new table chairs have been ordered to coordinate with our new bedding package! We are very excited for these new arrivals this Fall 2013! Future projects will include but are not limited to, updating all our appliances in 2014/2015!

Again, thank you for your honest and valued opinion. It is because of courageous guests such as you, who give us the support to propose for new upgrades! I hope you give us an opportunity to change your opinion again this spring!

Have a wonderful holiday season!

Warmest Regards,

Mandi Jordan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the minute I entered this hotel, I knew it was a mistake
When I asked why the clerk needed my credit card, she responded that it was needed to cover the room damages...I am a senior citizen whose wild party days ended 40 years ago. Very insulting

The bath tub had black hair in it, I am blond.
Floor was not vacuumed

Room Tip: Good rooms are not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petruchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi2457, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Mrs. Petruchka,

Thank you for your review of our property! I apologize for the lack in accommodations that you found during your stay. We appreciate your honest review, and empathize with you in regards to the insult that you felt upon check in. Unfortunately, our front desk agent mis-spoke. The credit card to put on file is for incidental charges that you may accumulate during your stay. This can be for any number of things ranging from snacks and drinks from our Candlewood Cupboard to items you may want to purchase from us upon departure (I.E. Our soft pillows, duvet, dishes, pots and pans, etc). Since many of the items are provided on our Candlewood Honor System, we do ask for a credit card to put on file for any incidentals. While I fully believe that you are a trustworthy and honorable guest, we must uphold the same policies and procedures for everyone to ensure equal treatment. To keep from any instances of discrimination, we ask our front desk to obtain a credit card from all our guests; no matter age, race, gender, etc. I hope that helps to explain the true reason for the request from our front desk agent, and ease the hurt you felt at check in. Sometimes, with new front desk agents, they get a bit flustered with unexpected objections and we use experiences such as yours as a training opportunity. we will be using your experience in our next staff meeting, as this will help guide our front desk agents on the appropriate response to these questions moving forward! Thank you for being honest and sharing. It is guests such as yourself that help us to obtain even better customer service!

We hope if you are ever in the area that you will give us an opportunity to change your opinion!

Enjoy your fall season!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived, checked our room, went to turn up the air conditioner and the carpet was soaked from the leaking air conditioner. Called the front desk and they immediately moved us to a different room. They offered the option of 2 different rooms but we accepted the first one offered. The manager checked it out first before bringing us the room keys to make sure that it was in optimal condition.
The kitchen suite was really nice, fully stocked with dishes, pans etc., stove top, microwave, and dishwasher.
The ice maker didn't work. When I told the maintenance man he said that he would come check on it but he never showed up.

The washer and dryers were free, but you had to buy your own soap and fabric softener from the hotel store.

The rest of the staff were friendly.

If you join the Carlson Hotels membership (free) before you book your stay, you can get a better rate than with the other online booking sites.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi2457, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you K R for your very honest review of our property here at the Candlewood Suites Huntersville! We appreciate your feedback, as it assists us to constantly improve and reminds us to always stay on our toes!

First, I want to apologize for the inconvenience of having to move rooms upon your arrival. We try to catch these issues before they occur; however, sometimes, A/C units can give us troubles in the summer months. We have implemented a new inspection process for our maintenance engineer; as well as, our housekeeping staff, so that we may keep situations like this from occuring in the future! Thank you for bringing it to our attention!

We are thrilled that you found our unique amenities beneficial, and that you highlighted them here. Candlewood Suites as a Brand likes to stand out from the crowd when it comes to accommodations. Our fully equipped kitchens and on-site laundry are two key amenities that we offer our guests complimentary. We want you to feel at home, and for things to be as comfortable as if you were walking into your own home!

Again, Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and we hope to continue to grow and improve so that you will find our hotel to be the best of the best upon your return!

Please remember, our loyal IHG Reward members can find discounted rates and offers online! Call the hotel directly for details!

Until we see you again, please take care!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The third floor is a smoking floor and it smells very strongly of smoke so I don't recommend that floor if you are a non-smoker. There is complimentary coffee but no free breakfast foods at all (they do have a small selection of items for purchase). My sheets were stained so I had to have them changed. 1 out of 3 mornings they forgot to give me my wake-up call. The hotel is very quiet and the pillows were among the most comfortable I've ever experienced at a hotel. The staff are friendly and they do provide free newspapers. There is a small exercise room and a free laundry room.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the third floor if you are not a smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi2457, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Jenny T for your review! We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us moving forward with our customer service and training.

First, I want to apologize for the lack in accommodations that you found during your most recent stay. While our third floor does have a wing that allows for smoking rooms, we understand some guests are more sensitive to the lingering odor in our hallways, and moving forward will make sure anyone arriving to the third floor will be aware of this and have the opportunity to move to a lower floor. Second, we take cleanliness seriously, and upon hearing you had stained sheets, took action. We have hired additional staff to assist in the cleaning of our rooms, have a new stained linen process to help with removal, and have begun hands on training as of this week. We hope this error never occurs again in the future, and we thank you for bringing it to our attention!

With the wake up calls, I sincerely do apologize. Our phone system does not allow for us to set wake up calls for more than one day at a time. We really wish it did!! We are currently discussing possible new methods for applying a wake up call sheet at the front desk for our extended stay guests. This is something we are testing at this time, and hope it helps this oversight from occurring in the future.

Unfortunately, Candlewood Suites as a brand does not offer a complimentary breakfast. The brand idea is simplicity and feeling like your in the comforts of your own home. Our Candlewood Cupboard is there to assist guests in items they may need for personal preparation in their rooms. We hope that you found our Cupboard worth while, and if there were any items that you would like to see added, please let us know! We are constantly updating our inventory to fit our guests needs! If more breakfast items are needed, we will add them!!

Again, Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and we hope to continue to grow and improve so that you will find our hotel to be the best of the best moving forward. We hope to see you back again, and to have the opportunity to change your opinion!

Warmest Regards,

Mandi Jordan
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hoe,l is right off 77.nice room with queen bed big chair desk and effeciency kitchen.fullfridg,e,microwave, dishwasher,small stove. Ice maker in fridge. If you book for 2 there is2 of everything. but small 4cup cheap coffee maker. Room did smell smokey were we arrived and they offered to move us but after AC on for awhile it was ok. Would stay again. Oh bed was soft and comfy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granmanh603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi2457, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Granmanh603!!

We appreciate your review of our property here at the Candlewood Suites in Huntersville, NC. It was truly a pleasure reading about your experience. We take our guests opinions very serious, so I wanted to address the issue with the room smell. In regards to the smoky smell, I wanted you to know that we have put in place harsher punishments for those guests who break the rules. For example, If someone smokes in a non-smoking room, we have a penalty fee applied to their method of payment. Also, we will deep clean the room and over night apply an ozone machine to filter the air. This, matched with our new smoke screen air freshener should help us to alleviate the uncomfortable smell that lingers in rooms where guests have smoked in a non-smoking room. So I just wanted to take a moment to say, I'm sorry. We dropped the ball, and we are putting in place the steps to help us deter the situation from happening again!

Otherwise, We enjoy having preferred guests, such as yourself stay with us! You all become like family, even if it's just for one night. We want you to feel at home, while you are away from your home. We will keep striving to be the best!!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmest Regards,

Mandi Jordan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Huntersville Inn & Suites Near Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntersville

Property: Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Address: 16530 Northcross Dr, Huntersville, NC 28078-5081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether coming to Huntersville- Lake Norman for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, resort quality towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Enjoy a night of entertainment in your suite with free popcorn and a DVD movie. Spacious, fully equipped suites with amble work space and fully equipped kitchens make for a relaxing stay. Located off I-77, exit 25, in Huntersville, North Carolina, we are 5 minutes from Mickey & Mooch. We are affiliated with several educational facilities including Davidson College, UNCC Huntersville is located within the heart of NASCAR, minutes from Lowe's Motor Speedway, Richard Petty Driving Experience, Michael Waltrip RAcing World & Dale Earnhardt Enterprises. Mooresville, Race City USA within minutes. Convenient to Huntersville Business Park, Ingersoll Rand, Lowe's, Newell Rubbermaid, & the North Lake Mall. Bring your golf clubs and tee off at Birkdale Golf Course or Verdict Ridge Country Club. Visitors enjoy swimming at Mecklenburg Aquatic Club. Outdoor activities in our area include the U.S. National Whitewater Center, Queen's Landing with miniature golf, tennis, summertime bands & Cawtawba River Boat Cruises. Plus, there s great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at Birkdale Village. Candlewood Suites is your best stay - for a night, week, month or even a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntersville Hotel Huntersville
Candlewood Huntersville
Huntersville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing