We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“8 month old had the time of her life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Place KIDS - Huntersville

Discovery Place KIDS - Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit us for extraordinary and rich play experiences that value imagination, fun and learning. The Museum offers an adventure in play adventure for children age birth through 7 and their parents or caregivers. Join us for daily puppet shows and story time.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“8 month old had the time of her life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were visiting Charlotte for a few days and decided to take our 8 month daughter here to play in the infant/toddler area. She had so much fun crawling around and playing with the water activities.

She even enjoyed some of the activities for older kids since it allowed her to interact with everything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    43
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great for preschool set if visited during week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We first attempted to visit Discovery Place KIDS in Huntersville during a time when kids were out for a teacher workday and the entry line was wrapped around the building. Thank goodness we left to return another day, because after finally getting there today I could easily see how this would not be enjoyable if it wasn't during the week and uncrowded. My perception was that is was a museum of sorts for children, but really what it is would be an creative play environment for kids 5 and under. The website says kids under 8, but I can't imagine doing this with a school age child.
It is sort of pricey for what it is, and if I had a preschooler, was a stay at home parent, and lived close by I could see getting a membership to take the kids to play often. They had a water play table, train table, dress up pieces, kids could play in a boat, firetruck, and sit on a tractor. Lots of nice picture taking opportunities with all the props. No food service inside (other than vending machines) so everyone seems to show up first thing and play a few hours and then it empties out at lunch/nap time. I'd plan on about 3 hrs here. Nice place to play for your preschoolers, we had an enjoyable time but not something we'd go back again or make a long drive for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“imaginative play for little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There are a ton of imaginative experiences for little ones here. The art room wasn't anything to write home about. The water room was average. But they have a ton of imaginative areas like a doctors office, airport, mechanics.... our favorite was they make beleive restaurant. That was brilliant.

It was clean, fun, and in a good neighborhood.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank starlight1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brits Abroad....... with family, staying in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Out and about round Charlotte with our grandson and family, we went to this excellent childrens' play centre in Hunterville. Managed to squeeze 5 of us into a car for the trip out of the city. Not too long, thankfully!!!

What a brilliant place to spend some time with a youngster, in our case 16 months. He loved the water play, the fire engine, the tractor and just about everything!! Good facilities and equipment, even if the grocery store did look like it had been attacked by a small mob....... which it had, of course!!! Diligent parents worked to put all the stuff back on the shelves!!

Loved it..... and we have some brilliant photos to take away as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A totally great place to spend the day.. can get crowded but kids are kids. so much fun and interaction...kids above 6yrs old might get bored.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank momontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Place KIDS - Huntersville also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Place KIDS - Huntersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing