We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food 10 Service 1”
Review of La Unica

La Unica
Ranked #12 of 150 Restaurants in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food 10 Service 1”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

There is a lot wrong with this new location. For a Thursday night at 7:45 there was a 20 minute wait that turned closer to 30 minutes. We were seated and it took about 10 minutes for the waitress to get our order and bring the drinks. The food came out within a few minutes; it is some of the best street food I have found in the area; but it is just that street food. Then it went downhill from there. We never had our waitress to come by the table again. She was more concerned about the 12 top than the rest of her section. No beverage refills; even after asking. No one came by to check if the food came out right; and didn’t see one person that looked like a manager working. 30 minutes later we tracked down the waitress to get our ticket and then the line to pay. I will go back for average food and great service; I will not go back for great food and no service. Once the new kid on the block wares off in a few months the volume is going to drop. If service is still that bad, that location will be another empty building. I recommend the place for to go food. I don’t recommend the place to sit down to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twhite614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT SALSA; everything else BLAND!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recently went to the new La Unica with family members. First time ever there. The salsa was great but the chips were cold and had obviously been around a while! The food was bland at best; nothing I had (other than the salsa) was the remote bit spicy or exciting. This is obviously a family place with kids everywhere; but if you're looking for exciting and tasty Mexican food, this is NOT it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great fajitas”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great service and food. The new location will allow for more patrons as well as full bar. My chicken fajitas were well cooked with plenty of chicken and veges. Sides of rice and beans were well proportioned. The salsa was spicy hot, be sure to add some of the just tomato sauce to dilute if you don't like it hot. Staff is attentive and gracious. Great value for the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asanannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Little Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a very good dining experience tonight at La Unica. We went there while visiting family in Huntersville because it is one of their favorites. Food and service were very good, and I especially liked their fajitas. One notation: They are moving in the next few weeks to a new but close by location, so be sure to call to verify where they are located.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njblanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best in Area, Make sure to follow them when they move down the street”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We been here a few times as a family, consistently good. Jut be careful as some dishes bring the heat, including one of the table salsas. Some of us have to be careful, others relish the strong flavors. Casual place and we're glad they are moving across Sam Fur to get out fo the strip mall they are in.

Great prices, great service, what's not to like?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Unica also viewed

 

Been to La Unica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing