We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days with the Birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Talk a Walk on the Wild Side at Carolina Raptor Center What will you find on your walk around the 3/4 mile Raptor Trail? Over 30 species of raptors and other birds of prey are featured on this walk on the wild side. Owls and Vultures. Hawks and Eagles. Falcons, Corvids and other species that just don't fall into any of these categories. Have you seen a Bald Eagle up close? The Raptor Trail features a nesting pair of Bald Eagles who live out back in the Eagle Aviary. Our Spectacled Owl just can't wait to tell you what she thinks about living here at CRC, but you might have to listen carefully to what she has to say - she's a shy one. Did you know that Vultures and Corvids are some of the smartest birds around. No bird brains here! Lots of human mythology surrounds both of these families of avian brainiacs. Crows have been known to drop nuts into crosswalks so that cars can crack them and then wait for the light to change and retrieve the goodies! Behind the scenes at CRC is our Raptor Hospital, where we see approximately 900 raptor patients a year (please no songbirds or possums!). If you can't make our behind the scenes tour, don't worry, the exhibit "A Day in the Life of a Raptor Hospital" will show you what goes on there - day and night.
Greensboro, nc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 days with the Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This weekend I had the opportunity to attend a 2 morning Photo Wild shoot at Carolina Raptor. What a wonderful learning experience to see these fascinating creatures close up. The volunteers were all very knowledgable about each bird and was give some background. I look forward to going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dk9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Many Well Displayed Raptors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

With a great staff and a great number of raptors, you'll be able to mark a number of the birds off of your bird list. The staff is well informed and takes the time to speak to you--even the volunteers fixing the trails were helpful!
The cages are large and roomy. The best touch are the informational signs: not only telling the visitor about the specie of raptor on display but also the life histories of the individual birds. This sets the Carolina Raptor Center apart from other such centers and they should be given credit for understanding their visitors better than most. Well done.
We visited without any children, but the child-oriented displays were a big hit with all of the children who were visiting with their parents. I highly recommend that you take time to bring your children to the Center. You will both learn something about raptors!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Snailkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Raptors are worth getting to know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Carolina Raptor Center is a great place to visit. You get close looks at many kinds of raptors. They have a good gift shop to take home a memento of your visit. During the summer they have flight shows where they talk about the birds and they fly over the crowd during the show. You can also take a special tour of the hospital on certain week-ends. They rehab a lot of raptors every year. I was a volunteer here for many years. If you want to learn more about raptors, consider volunteering. You will learn so much, educate others, and have memories you will never forget!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMC_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Even if you aren't really a bird enthusiast, Carolina Raptor Center is worth a visit. Very interesting, informative and don't you just love going to a place where everyone who works there loves their job? The rehabilitation of injured birds is a good thing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiskaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful facility for entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great facility to see and learn about our feathered friends. Lots of birds to see and nice presentations given by employees. Check their website for hours and special presentations. Well worth the entrance fee.

Helpful?
Thank FrequentDinerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing