We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun and Interesting Place to Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Talk a Walk on the Wild Side at Carolina Raptor Center What will you find on your walk around the 3/4 mile Raptor Trail? Over 30 species of raptors and other birds of prey are featured on this walk on the wild side. Owls and Vultures. Hawks and Eagles. Falcons, Corvids and other species that just don't fall into any of these categories. Have you seen a Bald Eagle up close? The Raptor Trail features a nesting pair of Bald Eagles who live out back in the Eagle Aviary. Our Spectacled Owl just can't wait to tell you what she thinks about living here at CRC, but you might have to listen carefully to what she has to say - she's a shy one. Did you know that Vultures and Corvids are some of the smartest birds around. No bird brains here! Lots of human mythology surrounds both of these families of avian brainiacs. Crows have been known to drop nuts into crosswalks so that cars can crack them and then wait for the light to change and retrieve the goodies! Behind the scenes at CRC is our Raptor Hospital, where we see approximately 900 raptor patients a year (please no songbirds or possums!). If you can't make our behind the scenes tour, don't worry, the exhibit "A Day in the Life of a Raptor Hospital" will show you what goes on there - day and night.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Up close and personal with a wide range of birds. Hawks, falcons, vultures, owls, eagles, etc. Very good signing. Very visitor friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    63
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great education center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I follow their eagle cam once eagle mating season gets going and always said I'd visit if I were in the area (I'm from Washington DC area). Well, I was and I did. The trail is really nice and easy to follow, lots of signage to explain each raptor and how they came to be at the Center. Not too much information, but enough to give you the basics of the species and short story of each raptor there. It looks like they are doing a bit to improve or build some areas more specific to children. It's already child friendly, but looked like they were adding to it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Massachussetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birds, Outdoors, Education”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a wonderful sanctuary. Manicured grounds, humanely treated rapors, educational gift shop/book store. A delight for kids and adults...and a nice outdoor park-like setting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Windborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birds, birds, birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can see eagles, and you can hear the docents tal about the center. Eagles are rehabilitated whenever possible and then set free in other areas. It is great for kids and adults.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an amazing place to learn about our raptors and caring for the environment. There are a variety of raptors (owls, eagles, vultures) in cages in a forested area that you walk through. Many of them have been injured by man, restored to health, and will eventually be returned to the environment. Getting to see them up close is an experience in itself! A fabulous learning experience for adults and children! Go1

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCNANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing