We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Birds, Outdoors, Education” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Talk a Walk on the Wild Side at Carolina Raptor Center What will you find on your walk around the 3/4 mile Raptor Trail? Over 30 species of raptors and other birds of prey are featured on this walk on the wild side. Owls and Vultures. Hawks and Eagles. Falcons, Corvids and other species that just don't fall into any of these categories. Have you seen a Bald Eagle up close? The Raptor Trail features a nesting pair of Bald Eagles who live out back in the Eagle Aviary. Our Spectacled Owl just can't wait to tell you what she thinks about living here at CRC, but you might have to listen carefully to what she has to say - she's a shy one. Did you know that Vultures and Corvids are some of the smartest birds around. No bird brains here! Lots of human mythology surrounds both of these families of avian brainiacs. Crows have been known to drop nuts into crosswalks so that cars can crack them and then wait for the light to change and retrieve the goodies! Behind the scenes at CRC is our Raptor Hospital, where we see approximately 900 raptor patients a year (please no songbirds or possums!). If you can't make our behind the scenes tour, don't worry, the exhibit "A Day in the Life of a Raptor Hospital" will show you what goes on there - day and night.
Coastal Massachussetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birds, Outdoors, Education”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a wonderful sanctuary. Manicured grounds, humanely treated rapors, educational gift shop/book store. A delight for kids and adults...and a nice outdoor park-like setting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Windborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    58
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birds, birds, birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can see eagles, and you can hear the docents tal about the center. Eagles are rehabilitated whenever possible and then set free in other areas. It is great for kids and adults.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an amazing place to learn about our raptors and caring for the environment. There are a variety of raptors (owls, eagles, vultures) in cages in a forested area that you walk through. Many of them have been injured by man, restored to health, and will eventually be returned to the environment. Getting to see them up close is an experience in itself! A fabulous learning experience for adults and children! Go1

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCNANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great chance to see birds of prey up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Started as a conservancy for injured local birds, now it's a top 10 attraction. This non-profit rolls all the entry fees into care for the hundreds of birds located on property. People still bring in injured wild birds and they are nursed back to health and released.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids, accommodating staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff told me everything I needed to know at check in and even provided bug spray. I recommend only strollers with large wheels as you will be traveling on wood chipped paths. We were not there for a show and hope to go back to catch one next year. The kids loved being outside. Even though it was hot, paths mostly shaded and comfortable. Castle for playtime a bonus.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing