We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Area Big Let Down!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Area Big Let Down!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is close to the freeway and the beds are quite comfy, But that's where it starts downhill... grounds are poorly kept... NO coffee in the lobby, you are told you have coffee in your room "If you want coffee" was the attitude. Problem with that is they are the cheap single cup (small) and don't work. Breakfast menu is costly and limited and also very bland. For what you pay there should be some kind of breakfast included even continental would be fine... but NOTHING. The breakfast area feels like a workplace lunch room. Staff has a definite attitude that seems you are really bothering them when you have a need with short "CURT" answers. I have found most Courtyard by Marriotts to be quite nice and helpful, BUT NOT THIS ONE! So if you do stay here and are hungry.... there is a very nice Bob Evans restaurant next door....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racerguyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear RacerguyIdaho,
I wanted to take a moment to apologize for your most recent stay with us. We always try to ensure that our guests leave our hotel happy and I am very sorry to hear that we failed to deliver excellent customer service throughout your stay here. Courtyard by Marriott is a very unique brand which has unfortunately never offered a complimentary breakfast and just recently as a brand it has stopped offering the complimentary coffee in our lobby to enhance the sell of Starbucks, but as a brand we still offer and give our guests the option of having the complimentary coffee in there guest room. The removal of complimentary coffee in our lobby has been a very big change for most of our Courtyards so we do appreciate your feedback on that topic. Again, I sincerely apologize for your most recent experience and if you would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further please feel free to contact the hotel directly. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, I truly value all our guests feedback so we can strive to always be better and deliver excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
19
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My Fiancé and I had a wonderful experience with this hotel. A sweet lady by the name of Theresa checked us in. she was so kind and very welcoming. This hotel is very clean and neat and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Amazing EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review about our hotel! We love to hear feedback from our guests, especially when one of my staff members gets recognized. I am so glad that Theresa was able to provide you with exceptional customer service that made your stay with us impressive and memorable. We hope to see you again when you are in the Lake Norman area, and again we thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina/virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here several times when visiting family in the area. It's a decent place to stay. The beds are comfortable, the desk is large enough to do some work, and the location is quiet which is important to us, because we sleep with the sliding door open. I have not eaten in the "Bistro", but my husband did have breakfast there one morning when he didn't want to wait to eat when we got to our family's house. He found it to be adequate, if nothing special. My only real complaint is that the towels are very thin and not absorbent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loopbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback about your most recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you continue to use our hotel while visiting your family in the area. We love hearing about all our guests stays and I want to thank you for using our location as your "Home away from Home" . We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have actually stayed here 1 other time. It has been updated a little since then. The room was clean but I don't get why they offer 2 double beds instead of 2 queen beds. We arrived on Saturday night. We walked next door for dinner, came back. Wife and kid used the pool and I watched the basketball game in the lobby with some other people. It was a nice stop on the way home. Nice indoor pool which is the main reason we stayed here again. Need the kid to expend some energy after a long drive. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback about your most recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you revisted our hotel while traveling home from your vacation and that your kids were able to enjoy the pool once again. We love hearing about all our guests stays and I want to thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard because I am a Marriot rewards member. I found the hotel to be clean and very comfortable. The hotel is nothing extra special but is a perfectly good place to stay for a few nights if you are looking for clean, comfortable, and friendly hotel. The only real complaint I have is there was no food for breakfast. The only food available was from the restaurant down in the lobby that is over priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kin575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking to time to tell us about your most recent stay and thank you for choosing the Courtyard Lake Norman while you visted the Lake Norman area. We love hearing feedback from all our guests and I am very glad that you had a comfortable relaxing stay. Please make sure you come see us again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were visiting a friend who just moved to the area and chose this hotel primarily because it was close. We found the hotel to be a first class operation and very reasonable. It was nice and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the shower was great, the staff very friendly.

There is not a free breakfast but there is a little restaurant called The Bistro right in the hotel and for a reasonable price you can get a *good* breakfast, a nice change from the typical "free" ones.

About the only nit I'd pick was that the heating system, while it worked fine, was quite noisy. We didn't need it at night so that was a non-issue.

A good experience overall and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice property in a great location, just across the street from a great entertainment area with upscale shops and restaurants. this hotel is pretty much remodeled with a new lobby, the rooms have new flat screens with plenty of channels, updated furniture, beds and drapery. Also a fridge in the room. the best part of the hotel for me is the staff.well trained and eager to help. i really feel welcome and at home here.

Room Tip: only stayed here once but i suggest asking for a room on the courtyard side with a balcony, It over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikecDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
0.1 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#5 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman
Address: 16700 Northcross Dr, Huntersville, NC 28078-5090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Courtyard Huntersville
Huntersville Courtyard
Huntersville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing