We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard because I am a Marriot rewards member. I found the hotel to be clean and very comfortable. The hotel is nothing extra special but is a perfectly good place to stay for a few nights if you are looking for clean, comfortable, and friendly hotel. The only real complaint I have is there was no food for breakfast. The only food available was from the restaurant down in the lobby that is over priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kin575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, General Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking to time to tell us about your most recent stay and thank you for choosing the Courtyard Lake Norman while you visted the Lake Norman area. We love hearing feedback from all our guests and I am very glad that you had a comfortable relaxing stay. Please make sure you come see us again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
17
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were visiting a friend who just moved to the area and chose this hotel primarily because it was close. We found the hotel to be a first class operation and very reasonable. It was nice and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the shower was great, the staff very friendly.

There is not a free breakfast but there is a little restaurant called The Bistro right in the hotel and for a reasonable price you can get a *good* breakfast, a nice change from the typical "free" ones.

About the only nit I'd pick was that the heating system, while it worked fine, was quite noisy. We didn't need it at night so that was a non-issue.

A good experience overall and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice property in a great location, just across the street from a great entertainment area with upscale shops and restaurants. this hotel is pretty much remodeled with a new lobby, the rooms have new flat screens with plenty of channels, updated furniture, beds and drapery. Also a fridge in the room. the best part of the hotel for me is the staff.well trained and eager to help. i really feel welcome and at home here.

Room Tip: only stayed here once but i suggest asking for a room on the courtyard side with a balcony, It over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikecDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The beds are very conferable and the wifi was good. It's located in a well lighted
safe area. There's several places to eat near and if you have some time to kill,
go to the Birkdale Shops about a half mile away.
Everything is a close drve from the interstate.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had to go to Charlotte on business and had the choice of staying here or at the Comfort Inn & Suites. Decided on paying 50% extra for an indoor pool and gym - what a big mistake. The pool is tiny, there is no free breakfast and my wife was solicited and felt threatened whilst sitting reading in the foyer area. The staff were not interested and sat around berating the hotel management. The refurbishment, which was supposed to be limited to one area, created noise, mess and did not allow for a good stay. Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had heard that the Courtyards were upgrading to a new format, but apparently they did not get the memo in Huntersville, NC. The lobby has clearly been upgraded, but the rooms were not. The carpets were sticky, the bathroom had mold and the "climate control" was a loud, air conditioner unit plugged stuffed through the wall. We had a room with a balcony, but the sliding door was jammed shut and took two of use to open.

All that said, the people who worked at the Courtyard were pleasant and professional and tried their best to accommodate the guests. We were there for a wedding and they kept the bar open for us after the reception and did everything within their power to make the group happy. Had this not been the case, my guess is that the entire group would have moved to a hotel in Charlotte.

I can not in good faith recommend the Courtyard until they upgrade their rooms. Once this is done, the combination of new rooms and the staff will make for a great stay.

Room Tip: Wait for the rooms to be renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a good property but be careful...they apparently are not allowed a sign on the street so it is easy to miss.

The staff are exceptional. Front desk people--all shifts--were bright, sensitive and helpful. It made our stay.

Room Tip: Because there is not a sign on the street you have to have sharp eyes not to miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#6 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#10 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman

Property: Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
Address: 16700 Northcross Dr, Huntersville, NC 28078-5090
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Courtyard Huntersville
Huntersville Marriott
Huntersville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing