We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Short Stay but Adequate for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Short Stay but Adequate for the Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stopped at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday due to its proximity off of I-77 and I didn't have any problems finding the hotel off of the interstate and followed the signs and saw it once on the overpass. In the middle of some restaurants, and just down the street from an upscale mall with easy on/off access to I-77. The room was clean and updated and the hotel was very quiet-with restaurants within walking distance like Bob Evans and Carabbas so once you get settled, you don't have to jump back in the car again unless you really want to or need to find something at the mall. The price for a Friday night stay was very inexpensive, even for the area, and especially for Thanksgiving. The beds were a little too spongy for our liking and we would prefer setting a thermostat on the wall as opposed to fiddling with the heater and trying to get a comfortable temperature in the room. A room on the higher floor might allow you to shut off the heater and just allow the lower rooms' heat to warm your room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
19
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

To start, the hotel has poor signage from the interstate. Had a king suite, very nice bed with a pillow top. But the room was very small. No refridgerator, no microwave. The clerks were very obnoxious, found the whole experience disappointing. Country suites was half the price and much nicer. Save yourself the headache and money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We attended a family get-together in Huntersville, NC (about 15 miles north of Charlotte). The hotel is conveniently located off Sam Furr Drive near I-77 and yet we heard no road noise coming from either the interstate or the local street. When we checked in, the hotel had put out cookies and coffee for their guests, a nice touch. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping department had left us more towels than we could use. The HD TV received about 60 cable channels including HBO. I did not have opportiunity use the indoor pool or hot tub, but they looked inviting. The desk staff was pleasant.

The only negative comment that I can make is that the hotel may be difficult to find. As we were arriving, I saw the hotel from Sam Furr Drive and was easily able to find it despite there not being any signs on Sam Furr or on Northcross Drive pointing to the property. Someone came to pick us up on Saturday morning and had a difficult time locating the hotel. Here are the directions: Sam Furr Drive to Northcross Drive, turn south. Take an immediate left turn on the unnamed road that runs behind the BB&T Bank. This road will take you right to the front door of the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face on Sam Furr Drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim33625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

All of the Courtyards are having their lobbies remodeled. This is the first one I have seen in person. Marriott has really made them look very upscale and not sterile. Warm wood tones, comfy seating and a non-imposing front desk are all great additions never mind to say a Starbucks coffee/breakfast bar.
The only thing I thought that could be improved is could ya put the entrance sign closer to the street??? Drove by it thinking it was the bank entrance and the hotel entrance would be further down. Nope..go in the bank entrance and you will see the Courtyard sign past the bank parking lot. It's location is perfect for shopping and eating. In walking distance (well wouldn't recommend a 4 lane highway to walk) is Birkdale Village which is one of those work, play, live type of outdoor malls (PS Birkdale web developer..you think you could advertise that with some beautiful pictures so people know its not your typical "mall"). So no problem with finding places to have dinner/lunch.
The staff were friendly and helpful; there was a Warrior Dash race we were attending with loads of other people so you can imagine it was definitely hopping with guests.
Great reasonable rates and clean and comfy cozy. Close enough to Charlotte and Lake Norman if you wanted to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofthedamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

1. We checked in prior time. (they understood we had food in a cooler) and were trying to take my toddler to the Discovery Place Kids Museum. ASAP
2. Even though the hotel does not have fridge inside a room. The girl on the counter WAS SO NICE that she made sure to provide us one.
3. They bring the fridge like in about within 10 min.
4. The room was very clean, nice.
5. Nice restaurants are close by the hotel.
6. The pool is not tiny.
7. The next following day they let me prepared a special breakfast for my toddler who eats gf/df/sf/ef diet. in their kitchen.
CAN BE MORE APPRECIATED WITH THEIR SERVICE!!

ps: the in room cafe tastes bad...did not like it.

Room Tip: 303 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiauLaGata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Depends on what you are looking for, so I will give you the details & you can decide. We will not be going back because it's in a very congested traffic area and at commuter time it is really difficult to get around. (We are originally from a busy metro area & are used to that). In addition, it is an older building and has older, smaller bathrooms. However, it is attractively decorated and renovated to a great degree, and the staff is very hospitable and goes far and beyond to please. It is impeccably maintained as well---very clean, AND very quiet. It's a solidly built hotel and you won't hear people in the hallways or nearby.

If you don't mind the traffic, etc., then you will also enjoy that it is surrounded by lots of restaurants and a beautiful shopping village with high-end boutiques, Starbucks, and chain restaurants/ice cream/movie theater, etc. The good or bad is that absolutely EVERYTHING you could ever need is right at this Exit. In our case, we know our way around and would rather stay somewhere quieter, newer, and perhaps one Exit away from restaurants, or just enjoy excellent room service after a busy day!

Note: There is no sign for this hotel on Northcross Drive. It's easy to pass the drive because the hotel is set back behind another building. It is the second left on Northcross, after you turn at the intersection.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailstoyou301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Basic no frills hotel. The room was nice, everything was clean and the bed comfortable. What's not to like? No breakfast included. But they do have a quick, convenient and reasonably cheap breakfast bar. The hotel is located close to major highways, but set back enough that noise is not an issue. Restraurants abound, with a few within walking distance. The front desk staff was very helpful. I had a couple of special requests for my room, and they obliged without a fuss. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced place to spend the night.

Room Tip: Just ask. I asked for a balcony so I could enjoy the evenings and they happily obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coop228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntersville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
0.1 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#5 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman
Address: 16700 Northcross Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Courtyard Huntersville
Huntersville Marriott
Huntersville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing