We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view on a clear day”
Review of Max Patch

Max Patch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view on a clear day”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Visited 7/16/2014.

The hardest part about it was finding our way on the gravel road and the 11-year old fussing about what she would possibly do up there for 3 hours while waiting for the sun to set. All that evaporated once we found the small parking lot and saw what was in store. The kids (7 and 11) charged up to the summit in the lead and we settled in for our picnic around 6 p.m. I have never seen any view so breathtaking as this. Surrounded by mountains on all sides you can see for miles and miles. Sunset was great, although it does get cold up there after dark. It was fairly quiet, so we were practically alone for a little while. More people arrived as sunset neared and gathered at the summit to watch. We waited another 40 minutes or so after sundown in hope of stars, but saw only a few twinkles and decided to head out because it was quite chilly -- glad we brought our winter coats!

Tips for you:
1) We had no cell signal/GPS, so do get directions from your location and use your trip odometer to monitor miles for turns. There was no sign at all on the turn for Max Patch Mountain (we were coming from I-40/Little Creek Road), so we missed it the first time.
2) The gravel road was rough in spots -- a car can make it fine, but we were glad to have taken the Jeep.
3) It is about 10 degrees cooler on the mountain and got downright cold after sundown and this was in mid-July. By the time we left around 9:30 p.m. it was <50 degrees up there and breezy and felt colder than that somehow. If you plan to be there after dark, dress accordingly. We wished we had hats and mittens along with our winter coats.
4) Plan to go on a clear sunny day -- it would have been nice, but not nearly as impressive on a cloudy/foggy day and I don't think I'd enjoy it in the rain at all.
5) Not to be missed -- we were just in Hawaii at Volcanoes National Park a few months ago, which itself was amazing, but this view far exceeded any we saw there -- how unexpected! Our whole family loved it and will definitely go back!

p.s. No bathroom facilities (of course), so plan accordingly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MelissaandJeff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    42
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but unpaved road to get there”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The trail was lovely and the view was breathtaking. We got confused several times getting there and back from Asheville as the GPS did not work in the area and the road is windy and not paved. We stopped an asked many folks for directions and everyone was extremely nice. If you are in the area, I would definitely go. I'm happy we went but I did not do the driving!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Rain”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

AFter reaching our destination, it began to rain very hard, so we did not complete our climb. Have to return next year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherrill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The views are worth the hike & the drive”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's a twisty, rocky drive on a narrow unpaved road to the parking area and a rather steep hike up the grass covered mountain but the 360 degree views of the Smokey Mountains are spectacular. They could use some picnic tables near the parking area (I wouldn't want to spoil the beautiful grassy meadow at the peak).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belmarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just So Know”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

absolutely beautiful. its worth the trip!!! just so you know.....after exiting I 40 and turning into Harmon Den the road turns to gravel for 6 miles or so. it is a very twisty road that is constantly climbing. there are many large potholes along the way. (hint: do not drive the wifes sports car!!) when you have gone the 6 miles you will come to a T, go left another mile or 2 more twisting and ascending gravel road. parking on the right. take your time up there. it is spectacular.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lockhead824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Patch also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Max Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing