We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Run towards Laughing Heart Lodge as fast as you can ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel
Weaverville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Run towards Laughing Heart Lodge as fast as you can ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I just held an afternoon workshop at Laughing Heart, visiting them for the first time yesterday, and it is an absolutely GORGEOUS jewel, tucked away in the heart of the mountains outside Hot Springs, NC. If you are thinking of holding a retreat, class or workshop there; needing healing from any of the amazing practitioners; need a place to stay and renew; need somewhere to hang your hat before or after hiking the trails around Hot Springs or the Appalachian Trial; or for no GOOD reason at all, put this lovely destination on your radar. It is beautiful in and out and will have your heart.

Room Tip: I didn't stay over night but I plan to, next chance I get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Debra888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This lovely B & B boast large and pleasant rooms, a big living room with a roaring fire and a nice library to while away an early evening after a day of hiking on the AT. The hosts are super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful for our taste buds the coffee could stand a tad improvement towards the stronger side.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakclimber46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed overnight at the hostel after spending a week section hiking the Appalachian Trail in October of 2013. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the hostel was clean with a soft bed in a single room for a very reasonable price, plenty of hot water and a shared kitchen, refrigerator and a seemingly unlimited supply of good company! The grounds of the hostel and lodge were beautifully kept and would be a great place for an event or wedding. The town of Hot Springs is a short walk from the hostel, and the AT is visible from the back door. The Lodge was gorgeous and also quite affordable and I look forward to staying there during my next trip to the area. Best hostel I've encountered so far, Thanks so much! "Apple Guy" 2013

Room Tip: Reservations are accepted, and recommended, thesingle rooms were full when I visited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my third stay at the Inn. The two Karens are always gracious and attentive. The Tranquility room lives up to its name and the egg casserole breakfast was delicious. This place is so peaceful. Just like before, I didn't want to leave. But....for sure I will be back.

Room Tip: Tranquility is on the back side of the house and has a large bathroom. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited Hot Springs for a friend's wedding and stayed at Laughing Heart Lodge for four nights. The Lodge has a charming look and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The common rooms were comfortable and welcoming. Our room was very clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here on Columbus Day weekend. The lodge is very welcoming and charming, and we were impressed by the comfort of our bed - firm like we prefer, and the foam pad they placed over the pillow top mattress helped. I enjoyed the large selection of books, and the owner's dog, Jazzy was fun to play with outside! The only improvements I would suggest would be to place another mirror in the bathroom that could be used without stooping down to use it - perhaps on another wall. The bathroom was very clean and modern, especially the shower!And a firmer chair to sit in, within the bedroom, would also be good. We personally did not find much to do in the town of Hot Springs, as my husband is not able to walk a lot at this time, but it did not take too long to drive to Gatlinburg for an afternoon. The drive to Gatlinburg along back roads was pretty, as well as the route 209 we took to get to I-40 when we left - very pretty! *** I was surprised to see that the 'boardwalk' route from the window fire escape ended with a drop to the ground below - wonder if there are plans to place steps there for a safer fire escape, can't believe this escaped the eyes of safety inspectors!

Room Tip: The Firefly and Dragonfly rooms are the smallest, but all the rooms are very nice from what I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is an absolutely lovely place to stay in Hot Springs, NC. We stayed for 5 days in August specifically for day hiking. Chuck was very knowledgeable and helpful. Both Karen and Karen were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. These days I judge things by whether I would do it again. Would I stay there again? Absolutely !!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Monarch room. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
18.9 mi away
The General Morgan Inn
The General Morgan Inn
#2 of 8 in Greeneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#6 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel

Property: Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel
Address: 289 NW Highway 25/70, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Heart Lodge opened in August 2012 after extensive renovation. The lodge was built in 1892 and for over 50 years was a Jesuit Retreat Center. Today Laughing Heart Lodge offers accommodations for visitors and travelers in its 9 lovingly renovated rooms (7 with private baths) and most with exceptional mountain views. Laughing Heart also has a hostel which is at the trailhead of the Appalachian Trail and offers very affordable lodging for hikers and other visitors to Hot Springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing