We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Family Time”
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Ranked #1 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

When I made reservations for a brief family trip to the NC mountains to ensure we had some solid family time before taking our eldest child to West Point to begin her college and Army journey, I had no idea that we would return home with the sense that we had been personal guests of the Wellendorfs. Their hospitality was so natural and their home so thoughtfully appointed to accommodate multiple guests, including our family of five, we felt completely at ease. Whether being lulled to sleep in our loft suite by the sounds of the river far below, watching the fog gradually lift over the mountains while sipping hot coffee in the morning, or cooking after a long day of adventure, sharing food and conversation with them around their dining room table, it was a vacation to remember.

Some features of the home and aspects of the visit that made it particularly wonderful for our family included the private space with two bedrooms and sitting room with TV and movies (perfect for downtime for our teenagers); the magnificent location overlooking the river and in a neighborhood with enough roads and trails to make out-the-door walks and runs possible; the close proximity to our rafting and zip-lining activities; the use of the washer and dryer; the simple but tasty pastries, cereals, breads, yogurt, fruits, berries, and coffee each morning – timed with consideration for each guest’s planned activities; and , most wonderfully, the company and companionship of Callie and Dave. We hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riverdance for our 1st anniversary. We stayed at three different hotels/B&B's during our trip, and I wish we had stayed here last, instead of first. The other hotels just didn't compare to Riverdance! When you arrive, you immediately feel right at home. The owners are super friendly and accommodating. The home is gorgeous, yet very cozy and the view is spectacular. We also liked the fact that we had access to the kitchen, laundry room and hot tub overlooking the mountains. We kept saying we didn't want to leave and couldn't believe what a great deal we got! We already can't wait to return. Don't hesitate to stay here!

-Chris and Katie Brown
Dearborn MI

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGBrown07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at RiverDance. The view was amazing and Callie and Dave made us feel so welcome we didn't want to leave. We enjoyed dinner with them and their friends the night we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and included lively conversation that we really enjoyed. We could choose to be with Callie and Dave and the other guests or spend time on our own in the hot tub or on our private deck. We loved the views from everywhere at RiverDance. Everything exceeded our expectations! We will definitely be back with friends and family!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've never unwound so quickly on a vacation as I did at River Dance. My sister and I went for a two-day stay and wished it could have been longer. Callie and Dave are great hosts, and the set-up of River Dance gives you an entire floor. The accommodations were lovely, the breakfast great and the views spectacular! We mostly hung out in the great room and on the porch, taking in the peace and beauty of the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana2AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Callie and Dave have done a wonderful job setting up this beautiful B&B. The view is spectacular, great ammenities. We used the whole house for a business retreat. Enough space to do group exercises and get away on your own if needed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice home-like atmosphere with all the comforts. The view was amazing, non like we had ever seen. You can see the sun come up over the mountain in the morning, hear the rushing of water in the river below and feel the fresh mountain air. Callie and Dave make you feel like family as you share their home. We enjoyed meeting their dog, Midge, too. My husband and I have very busy schedules and to find a safe place where we can enjoy time alone, take a walk, or enjoy a drive is very important. Best of all, it was affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at RiverDance! We were looking for a comfortable and relaxing place to catch up on some sleep after the birth of our son a few months earlier. Callie and Dave were so welcoming! They gave excellent advice for our day trips into town and for our hike, even providing us with a trail map. The bed was super comfortable and the rush of the river was the only sound we heard through the night. My husband and I especially loved the view from the porch and curling up in front of the outdoor fireplace. We had such a wonderful time that we want to bring others with us on our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#14 of 66 in Asheville
6,620 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#3 of 39 in Asheville
760 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC 28753
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance in Hot Springs NC is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Recently featured on the national TV show, Wheel of Fortune. See what made Pat and Vanna swoon. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites each with a sitting area and full bath. TreeTops features two bedrooms (one with a Queen bed and full futon, the other with two twins and a full futon). Each bedroom in River Rocks has a Queen bed. There is also a large gathering area with a full kitchenette in addition to a private deck. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing