We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cannot wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Save
You added RiverDance to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waxhaw, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cannot wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Riverdance was the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The place was amazing, views are priceless and Callie, Dave & Midge made 11 girls on a bachelorette weekend feel like family! I could sit on one of the porches for hours and not get bored. The hospitality shown was like nothing I had ever experienced before. I am hoping for a yearly trip to Riverdance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
182
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We travel a lot and love to stay in B&Bs so were delighted to find RiverDance. It was a bit different from the usual B&B - but in nice ways. You get an entire floor of the house to yourself - above or below the main level. We stayed on the lower level so had easy access to the car - and our living area opened up to a huge deck with the hot tub. It was darker than the top floor which also looked very nice but didn't have its own deck. (Everyone has access to the beautiful deck on the main level so its no big loss.) We diid not meet Dave but Callie was delightful, frinedly but not invasive like some B&B operators. If you like to hike, we recommend both Max Patch and the walk along the Laurel River which ends up at the Fr Broad. Both are absolutely lovely - even in Feb!! We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. The only reason I hestiated to write this positive reveiw was bec I want to keep RiverDance a secret. It is THAT good!

Room Tip: Bottom level opens up to private deck with hot tub. Views to die for. Top floor is brighter - sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I found RiverDance via this website... I was needing a locale for a surprise getaway... I read the reviews and quickly gave Miss Callie a call.. She was awesome! I knew after talking to her that I had found my perfect location... When we arrived, Miss Callie welcomed us like old friends and made us feel right at home... RiverDance was very clean and comfortable and the view was amazing!(Star gazing from the hot tub is a memory I shall hold dear) Miss Callie and RiverDance helped me pull off exactly what I was wanting to do. Surprise my girl with a wonderful escape; she hasn't stopped talking about it to all her friends. Thank you, Miss Callie, for opening your lil piece of heaven. We will be back.. You can count on it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at RiverDance for two nights at the end of February-- wish we could have stayed for a week longer! My boyfriend and I spent our days hiking and exploring and our evenings relaxing in the hot tub. Callie and Dave were very welcoming and took their time to get to know us. We really enjoyed the personal touch and seeing Callie every morning for breakfast.

Reasons we LOVED RiverDance:
-Our dog could stay with us!
-Absolutely beautiful and clean home
-Hot tub with stunning views
-Beautiful outdoor living space complete with a fireplace
-Knowledgeable hosts with many recommendations for hiking, dining, and other adventures
-In-home massage available (traveling massage therapist)
-Relaxing with the windows and doors open
-The view from the decks

My boyfriend and I would love to invite a few of our family members to join us for a week at RiverDance. We are hoping for sometime this autumn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Riverdance for two nights and we could not have asked for a more relaxing, amazing stay. Callie and Dave were accomodating in every way imaginable and made us feel right at home. Their home is absolutely georgous. It has the open, airy feel of being out in nature with beautiful views of the mountains and the river, yet still maintains its coziness. Whether you are looking to check out the area, go hiking, or just stay and relax at the house, you cannot go wrong at Riverdance. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a little get away to escape the hustle and bustle of our everyday craze. We decided to visit our friends near by in Paint Creek, TN and by fluke found River Dance while doing for a "google search." What a God send! Callie, Dave and Midge's home was PERFECT! Both of us have a love for a good mountain view and rustic/timber frame architecture so when we saw the photos and read the reviews we were sold! We've always wanted to stay in a B&B but could never find one in our searches that looked appealing, until we found River Dance. From the minute we pulled into the community we felt at home. Callie and Dave's smiles along with Midge's excitement to be welcoming us into their home felt as if we were visiting family we hadn't seen in a while.

I highly recommend the River Rock suite as you have closest access to the hot tub and a private deck, not to mention the morning sunrise over the mountain without even having to get out from under the covers. There are so many things I could list about how amazingly awesome are stay was, but there is just not enough time in the day! The bar has been set for sure. We are already talking about our next stay. Looking forward to making River Dance a yearly MUST! I've never come home so relaxed from a vacation. I typically start to miss home by day 3, but this time I felt "home sick" when we arrived back in NJ!

Room Tip: The River Rock suite was perfect for a little extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and a couple of friends were looking for something to do, other than book a chalet in Gatlinburg, TN, just too crowded. We have been to Hot Springs several times and by far had the nicest accomadations at River Dance. Callie and Dave welcomed us with open arms and met every need we had. The breakfast and hot tub can only be trumped by the spectacular view. I've lived in Knoxville my whole life and stayed at multiple cabins and chalets in east Tennessee and western North Carolina and without a doubt the view from the house is the BEST view in the Appalacian Mountains. Can't leave Midge out, the family dog, adorable and we will definatly be back. Callie and Dave try to turn their home into a b & b, but can't resist to treat everyone like a guest in their home, since it is. If their was anything disappointing at all, just like any shared accomodation, some of the other guests may get a little too tipsy and then provide the entertainment for the night. Great time, will be back.

Room Tip: The two bedroom has a futon, comfortable, but still a futon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alishia_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
The General Morgan Inn
#2 of 8 in Greeneville
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#9 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#12 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Property: RiverDance
Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Recently featured on the national TV show, Wheel of Fortune. See what made Pat and Vanna swoon. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing