We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Need a getaway??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Save
You added RiverDance to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Need a getaway??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you want a place where you can get away, RiverDance is it. Nestled in the hills just an hour west of Asheville, NC it is the most relaxing place my wife and I ever stayed. The view off the deck was amazing we spent a quiet afternoon relaxing, reading, and sipping wine we had bought in Tennessee on the way in. When we finally turned in for the night, the bed was very comfortable and after two nights in hotels I slept like a charm. Had we been there more than one night, we would have taken advantage of the hot tub and outdoor fireplace and seating area. The Appalachian Trail is close at hand as well as rafting and other outdoor activities. I especially liked the timber framing visible in the main common area. The next time we go to that area of the country we will definitely book a few nights at RiverDance.

Tom and Shirl, Hatfield PA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
182
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The upstaires bedroom view was as close to heaven as I could imagine being.The host are great,and the hospitality was excellent.Loved it all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryandmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

There are lots of reason to stay at this B & B, but the view has to be the best one of all! The pics just don't do it justice. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating...wonderful host.We stayed in the downstairs room which was a little more private with a deck. But both rooms have the ability to use most areas in the house. Only minutes from the Hot Springs.Make this your next get-a-way. You'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The hosts were hospitable, generous and warm. Midge was the best canine host we have ever met. The accommodations were as pleasant as being in our own home. Even if you have been to the mountains before, you “ain’t seen nothin’ yet” until you have been to RiverDance and the view they are lucky enough to own. After we picked our jaws up off the floor upon seeing the view for the first time, we could not believe that this place actually existed on planet Earth. It was “too beautiful”, “too perfect” and “too amazing” to even try to tell others about. We even tried to take pictures to remember our surroundings, but even they could not convey the magnificence of what stood before us. So stay for the spectacular hosts. Stay if you like to give belly-rubs to sweet dogs. Stay if you love comfortable beds. But most of all, stay if you want to be wow-ed like never before by one of nature’s greatest dances.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had always wanted to visit Hot Springs, but had never made it. When looking for lodging, we came across Riverdance and knew it was worth making the trip for! The house itself is amazing, but the view is even better. What a relaxing, fun trip! Callie and Dave were wonderful hosts and the upstairs suite was everything we had hoped for. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We will definitely return to both Hot Springs and Riverdance! This was a very "base" to explore the area, from ziplining at Navitat to enjoying the hot springs, to taking a raft trip on the French Broad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamerNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We've been going to Hot Springs, NC for about 30 years. A beautiful little town in the Appalachian Mtns. We decided to go down for a 3 night getaway to see the mountains in their fall glory. We are SO glad we discovered RiverDance, it was the perfect place. We stayed on the lower level with our dog. It's a wonderful bed and breakfast, clean, comfortable, gorgeous house and Callie offers up the best hospitality. We will stay here on our next trip to Hot Springs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeaddams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Fort
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I went for 3 nights in July to just "get away from it all." First time going anywhere without the kids in 5 years and it was worth it. We stayed on the lower level and very much enjoyed the privacy and our own entrance coming and going. Scenery was magnificient and the hosts were even better. It is a continental breakfast, but very filling, especially the granola. We ran to the closest grocery store (about 15 min) and stocked up for our time there since we had our own refrigerator/freezer and toaster oven, but Callie works with you if you need to use the appliances on the main level to cook a meal and there is a gas range on the scenic porch. We did make a trip towards Asheville to Navitat Canopy Adventure to experience some great ziplining and ate at a few restaurants in Hot Springs, NC. Since my wife and I are dog lovers we enjoyed getting to know Midge, who pretty much runs things. :) If given the opportunity again we would definitely love to stay here.

Room Tip: Lower level room/suite is very private and closest to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
The General Morgan Inn
#2 of 8 in Greeneville
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#9 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#12 of 41 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Property: RiverDance
Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Recently featured on the national TV show, Wheel of Fortune. See what made Pat and Vanna swoon. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing