We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip”
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Ranked #1 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“The highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at RiverDance for two days in July 2011 and had a fantastic time. We had high hopes based on the reviews and pictures, but everything surpassed our expectations. The view is just stunning, and we spent hours sitting on our private porch, which was part of the lower-floor rental. It was the perfect place to read.

We found plenty to do both in our two days. We went rafting, made a great dinner for ourselves in Callie and Dave's beautiful kitchen (also used the wonderful grill and ate outside on the porch), got a great massage (Callie kindly set this up for me), slept, read, and looked around Hot Springs. Callie and Dave are the warmest hosts imaginable, and we immediately felt comfortable in their home. We'll definitely be back, and send our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
202
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed at many B&B's and RiverDance is at the top of the list! Callie, Dave & Midge could not have been any more personable. Stayed one night with two children and mother in the Treetops Suite, slept great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGlass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed the night after going white water rafting. There were 6 of us with the daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren. There is lots of room and they provide lots of things for the kids to do. Our grandchildren loved it and they are hard to please. We had a wonderful time. This place is wonderful for family and for just a great get away time. Callie and Dave are great people. They made us feel at home and the accomodations are "GREAT". The beds are wonderful and "CLEAN". Everything was "CLEAN". We so enjoyed ourselves that my husband and I are planning a get away time for just the two of us. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimmieof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I met at the RiverDance for 4 nights in June. The gorgeous photos on their website sold it - and they are true to what you will find there. This is a special place in a beautiful spot - Callie and Dave provide just the right amount of help and privacy,
depending on what you are looking for. Callie was committed to making sure that our time there was all that we wanted it to be - whether it was for active or quiet times.

This is a warm and inviting environment, and it's easy to just stay on that porch, rocking and talking, listening to the river 300 feet below and taking in that beautiful peaceful view!

RiverDance is also unique in that it offers options for small numbers or large groups. For 2 people, it was lovely to have one bedroom of a 2-bedroom suite with a bath and comfortable living area, and know that the other bedroom would not be rented. This would be a great place for a large group that could rent both 2-bedroom suites with more bedding available in the suite's living areas.

Callie provides lovely fresh continental breakfasts, and the kitchen is available for anyone's use. The 2 suites are arranged upstairs and downstairs, each with private entrances. Callie and Dave live on the middle floor, with the shared kitchen. The arrangement could be a little weird, if Callie and Dave weren't so comfortable to be around, and didn't easily seem so much like family.

I'm sure the RiverDance hot tub was wonderful and Callie can arrange massages at the house, but we decided several times to go into Hot Springs a few miles away for soaking and massages. Although the Hot Springs Resort and Spa website looks like a 5-star resort, this is really a charming, friendly, oldstyle hot springs, with private clean tubs on the creek or river. It's a lovely rural setting, seems well run, and is very reasonable. We loved the ambiance - it felt like stepping back into a gentler time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambling111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great place to unwind and relax. Exceptionally clean and neat. Callie and Dave are perfect hosts as well as Midge, their dog. Porches are spectacular with the beautiful views of the mountains. Morning is beautiful watching the clouds or fogs rise up out of the valley below where the river flows. The lodge is open and wonderfully friendly. Rooms are private and quiet. The hiking is great as well as the scenic drives complete with waterfalls. Hope to return again...........

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The accommodations are first rate (the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in) and Dave and Callie are great hosts. the River Rock suite includes a bedroom, very large living room and huge bathroom. And the view from your own deck is absolutely amazing. Great hiking and biking is right down the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grigby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed at RiverDance for several days. The house is located on a mountain side, about 6 miles from downtown. Breathtaking views off the back porches. Very nice hosts. Would recommend if you're looking for a relaxed, quiet stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mdj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
191 reviews
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
13 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
64 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Property: RiverDance
Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC 28753
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDancenc is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Recently featured on the national TV show, Wheel of Fortune. See what made Pat and Vanna swoon. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing