We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, beautiful spot”
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Ranked #1 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, NH
2 reviews
“Great hosts, beautiful spot”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Highlight of the site is the big beautiful porch, complete with rocking chairs, a gas grill, and a dining area overlooking Big Laurel Creek. It has a stunning view and is a terrific place to relax and gaze at the mountains. It must be beautiful in the fall. The suites are comfortable and very well furnished. We appreciated being able to use the washer/dryer and the beautiful kitchen. Located within an easy drive of hiking and rafting in the Hot Springs area, Riverdance is an easy 40-minute drive from the Asheville arts and restaurant scene. A good value for the money. Best of all, Callie and Dave are great hosts, warm, welcoming, and low-key. We hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
203
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
near Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

When my husband found River Dance online, I just knew it was where we had to go for our getaway weekend together. Callie and Dave were amazing, welcoming us into their home like they had known us for years. From the moment we walked in, we felt like we belonged there. The lodge itself is amazing - timber built and majestic, yet warm and cozy at the same time. Our room was refreshing and beautiful, and had a sitting area with huge windows overlooking the mountains. Each morning when we woke up, the mountains were the first thing we saw, it was glorious. The garden tub/spa in our bathroom was so relaxing. The back deck was our favorite place to be - sitting in the large rockers, high on the mountain, overlooking the river below. The sound of the rushing river was so soothing, and we could have sat there for hours listening to it. Breakfast was wonderful, with a variety of foods - including chocolate scones the first morning, and decadent cinnamon buns the next. Callie and Dave payed such attention to detail, and they made our stay very personal. Callie even had special local chocolates waiting for us on our pillow when we returned home from hiking on Saturday evening. We enjoyed talking with Callie and Dave, and they were great about giving us privacy too. River Dance is the complete package - location, view, hosts, room and atmosphere, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay for a quick overnight getaway. The home is dog friendly, very clean, and very peaceful. Although there is lots to do within a short drive of Hot Springs, this bed and breakfast would make a perfect place just to hang out and relax for the day. I just wish I'd planned to stay a bit longer. Callie and Dave were super friendly, as was their dog Midge. They were very welcoming and instead of feeling like I was staying at a hotel, it felt like I was visiting old friends from the minute I arrived. I will definitely be making plans to come back and visit again.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurahamilton974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Warm mountain hospitality, world class accommodations and view, and an unspoiled mountain river for a neighbor. Would be an excellent place for a small group retreat or workshop. In fact, we are planning to do our next workshop there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morihito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I visited RiverDance for the first time several weeks ago. What a wonderful treasure we have found! Our host and hostess were very accommodating, nice, and down to earth. Our room (more like our floor) had a private porch, bath, living area and of course, a bedroom.

Callie served us a wonderful continental breakfast. I wish we could have stayed longer in this wonderful hide-away, but we will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carymom104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I were recent guests at RiverDance for our honeymoon. We use the word guests because that is exactly how we were treated. We stayed in the private River Rock suite on the bottom floor. It was amazing. We had a queen-sized bed with a view of the river, a large media room, and private deck with amazing views and access to a hot tub. We hiked the Appalachian Trail, had a wonderful massage, relaxed with a great view, and visited the Biltmore Estate. Callie and Dave helped to arrange all of these things. They had maps, arranged for a masseuse to come to us, had several restaurant suggestions, and helped us to get tickets to the Biltmore. It was a wonderful honeymoon and we have already arranged for our return visit. We are so thankful we found this unique Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon. We could not have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: For couples stay in the River Rock. It is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lani_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Four of us came to Riverdance for a "Girls Weekend" . Callie and Dave are the most gracious hosts. We enjoyed everything - the views, the accommodations, the hot tub, and all around beauty of Riverdance. If you want to just kick back and relax or are adventurous and want to explore the area with river rafting or tubing it's all here at Riverdance. Callie and Dave opened their home to us and we felt so welcome. We're already talking about our next trip. Highly recommend Riverdance if you are in the Asheville area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
194 reviews
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,984 reviews
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
65 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Property: RiverDance
Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC 28753
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDancenc is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Recently featured on the national TV show, Wheel of Fortune. See what made Pat and Vanna swoon. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing